Sony RM-VL900 Remote Controls

RM-VL900

Universal learning remote

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
Jake31   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2004]
Strength:

The most impressive feature of this remote is the learning capability of older remotes. I have 2 systems, 1 upstairs (older) and 1 downstairs(newer) and I can run both with the same remote.

Weakness:

Main weakness, the syymbols on all of my buttons wore off very quickly! Some of the buttons do not have any symbol at all. The buttons all the way around need to be reengineered with backlit capability and solid symbols that do NOT wear off. I tried contacting Sony for a replacement Keypad about a year after I bought it and they do not sell a replacement keypad. Hopefully Sony will put a little more thought into the weaknesses of the keypad on their next model!

Overall I like the many features that Sony put into this remote. I have some older equipment that did not have codes and it was easy to program the the old remotes into the RM-VL900.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
robdeb   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2003]
Strength:

Will learn every command you give it. Reliable. Good overall keypad layout.

Weakness:

Too heavy. Does not fit comfortably in your hand. Buttons not back illuminated. Arrow control buttons too close to one another. No X10 IR commands built in. No Dish PVR508 commands built in.

I originally had the Sony RM-VL700, and loved it! I liked the idea of macro keys, more input sources (8 vs 5), and a better keypad layout, so I upgraded(?) to the RM-VL900. First impressions were mixed. The unit is much heavier (4 AA batteries vs 2, and the same rated battery life of 5 months). It is not very comfortable in your hand. On further useage, Sony missed the mark on their logic on macro key useage. The 8 selection keys could have a combined memory; a single press for one command, and a hold the button down for 2 seconds to do the macro command. All the macro keys should have the ability to play a macro and return the remote back to the selection key that was on prior to the macro. If I was to do it over again, the RM-VL700 is a better value, lighter, more ergonomic and has 95% of the 900's ability, at almost half the cost!

Similar Products Used: Sony RM-VL700
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
keepitsimplestupid   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 22, 2002]
Strength:

simplicity, no LCD screens, kinda small (compared to those big mini computer remotes)

Weakness:

source buttons light up but only when you press them (they do not glow in the dark) so you have to memorize their positions to make changes to equipment in dark theatre-like atmosphere....you also have to remember to push the amp button when you go to turn up the volume, as the remote will otherwise go to turn up the tv volume while watching dvd/vcr sources

This remote does everything everyone says it does....i had it programed within 2 minutes to control my toshiba dvd, toshiba vcr, phillips tv, onkyo cd changer, and believe it or not, my NAD T751 amp (using the NAD code in the manual)....took another 5 minutes to program my macro functions for my girlfreinds convienence.....took another 5 minutes to program special functions from each remote (including NAD remote)...there is nothing this remote will not do that my other 5 remotes cannot do....

Similar Products Used: none (well my NAD amp came with a HTS-1 remote, which is supposed to be learning, but after 2 hours of trying to set it up with no success and giving up, i don't think it is a fair comparison.... NAD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul M   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 03, 2002]
Strength:

low price, learning, adjustable timing for macro commands, ability to replace multiple remotes

Weakness:

small system control macro buttons, no backlight

This is a great remote at a great price. It controls my Toshiba 57HX81 TV, SD3750 DVD player, W622 VCR, and Marantz SR6200 receiver with no problems whatsoever. I used the built-in codes as a starting point and the learning capability to fill in any missing functions for each device. The macro feature is great, it allows one-button home theater setup, my wife and daughter love it. This remote has allowed me to clear the coffee table of four remotes and allows complex control of all components. The only limitation is the difficulty of remembering all the learned function keys for each device. I highly recommend this unit.

Similar Products Used: Marantz RC6200SR
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joel Ostrow   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2002]
Strength:

Great learning capacity -- runs everything

Weakness:

Sometimes buttons don''t respond

Excellent remote. Learns anything ... including my 7 year old JVC VCR that NOTHING else will operate. This remote learned it in minutes, and performs every function. ONLY drawback is sometimes the buttons don''t respond right away on operation, but still if you hit them two or three times on those limited occasions it is fine. Does all you ever need from a remote at far less then the fancier gadgets out there.

Similar Products Used: X-10. Oneforall
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

Flawless performance. Easy to program Easy to use

My last remote broke so I needed a replacement. I upgraded most of my home theater equipment over the past year so I thought I would try a high-end remote. I first tried a Marantz W/LCD Screen it was difficult to program, the web-based s/w was useless and the remote was $299. I returned it and went with a pronto. The pronto was a nice product but it would not work with my Denon Receiver. I tried every possible programming method and nothing worked. The remote was $399. Finally I bought this Sony for 59. It operated every piece of equipment flawlessly, was easy to program and is very intuitive to use. As cool as the pronto was to use, this remote blows it away at a fraction of the price

Similar Products Used: Marantz Phillips Pronto Component remotes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chewbs   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2002]
Strength:

You can program up to 16 commands with the touch of one button. Simple layout of buttons and learning ability.

Weakness:

A few more buttons for dvd, cd changer perhaps.

This remote is truly amazing. It is smarter the the human brain! At least faster. I was using a universal remote, a cable box remote, and one for my NAD 370 amp and NAD 515 cd changer. It was very hard to have to juggle three remotes just to watch tv. My cable box is not preprogrammed for any universal remotes, so I had to teach it to the Sony remote, and it was very easy. The NAD amp was more difficult to program, like one person said, and I think I figured out how to program it without difficulty. First put both remotes on the table; NAD on the left and Sony on the right pointing at each other. Set the Sony to learn mode for a button. Pick up the NAD with your left hand and point the NAD away from the Sony and HOLD down the desired button. Then, quickly let go of the button on the NAD and point it at the Sony and tap the button immediately once. The Sony remote should learn the command rather fast, so you will know if you do it right. It does take a bit of practice, but I have successfully programmed all the buttons from my 370 amp. If you are cluttered with remotes, buy one immediately!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
trapper   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 28, 2002]
Strength:

This remote is fully programmable. It replaced six OEM RCs and I was able to pack them away (without batteries of course) This remote controls: Sony Wega 68 cm TV Sony Receiver Toshiba DVD Player Panasonic CD Player Panasonic VCR Cable Decoder (made by General Instrument) I even had two spare devices to use! I am still contemplating on adding the tape deck but I rarely use it so maybe in the future. I highly recommend to anybody who wants a reasonable priced RC to get this one. The packaging has a year 2000 make on it but it is still worth the money. It does everything you need plus more on what you want on a universal remote. The LCD types look sleek and fancy but in practice, push-button models are better. Unless you are only out to impress your guests, the LCD models feel awkward (pressing a flat surface as oppose to a real button) and expensive, but I bought this for convenience. It was easy to program and value for the money.

Weakness:

There were only a few maybes in this model - more buttons and perhaps labelling ability. I chose to use the PIP button for the tuner and for the zoom function in my dvd player. I also used this for the teletext in the TV. Now, imagine remembering all of that for all the other devices.. plus I have to show the missus on how to use it! It is also a little bulky (but I can live with it) and some buttons are smaller than most.

My brother suggested getting a universal RC as I had six RCs lying on the lounge table before. The Sony VL900 was a revelation! I had looked around for a while, tried other models and I had my mind set on this model after reading reviews on the net. The only trouble was getting this model in Australia. There were only the LCD types available (good ones) and a Sony push-button model I found can control only 4 devices without the learning capability. Sony Australia didn''t have this model released here. Luckily, the place I got it from started importing them! I had thought of buying it on the net from the US e-tailers but with the dollar conversion, shipping charges plus customs tax, getting them locally was a better alternative as I would have a local place to seek warranties (if I ever need it) Their office was close to work so I just went over there and got it. (Paid in Australian dollars)

Similar Products Used: None. My first Universal RC.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Zane   Audiophile [Aug 19, 2001]
Strength:

You name it and it does it.

Weakness:

Instructions a bit complicated.

This remote does it all. It completely blows away my beloved Kenwood universal. Can be programmed with supplied product codes for your componants and can also learn other commands not included with presets. Can even be programmed to do up to 16 commands on a single button. One button turns on my satelite, tv, and receiver (these are my most used componants) and selects my satelite so it is ready to go. Another button turns on DVD and then selects DVD on my receiver and selects the DVD controlls. Etc... This is a must have control. It is well worth double the price that I paid. Like I said, the instruction can be confusing at times, but once you master it you will wonder how you ever lived without it.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood RC-R0607
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Smith   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 18, 2000]
Strength:

Learning feature, build quality, macro commands, slick silver color

Weakness:

backlight, no-lcd

What an excellent all around product. Outperforms more expensive products ive used hands down. Has an excellent feel to it. Build quality is excellent and like others have mentioned has a heavy, high quality feeling.

Buttons are laid out well, the learning function works like a breeze. Picked up every command from my components, sharp, magnavox, hughes, pioneer

Overall has no major weaknesses, does everything its dubbed to do and more. Macro's are awesome, setup is a breeze.

Definitely can not go wrong at this price. Its the remote to buy if your not up to spending 300 bucks on a pronto remote.

Regards

Similar Products Used: Plethora of universal remotes, including other sony models
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com