One For All Cinema 6 Remote Controls

Cinema 6

Home Theater Remote Control

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Lee McLeod   Casual Listener [Apr 17, 2003]
Strength:

Learning all the components was a breeze. Macro is a life saver.

Weakness:

Batteries only last a couple of weeks. It is now collecting dust.

Bought this to handle all of my components Denon surrond sound,DVD CD player Sat TV etc...Very good and i love the macro. Makes it easier for the other half to power everything on with one push.

Similar Products Used: RCA universal NFG special
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
dkspears   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2003]
Strength:

Programmable (learning) feature, macro keys, small and lightweight, versatile.

Weakness:

It would be nice if it allowed more than 24 additional codes to be learned. Although you can program keys other than the learning keys, it still runs out of memory after 24 keys in total have been programmed.

I just love this remote control. I purchased my first one at Costco, and purchased 2 more when I saw them at RadioShack. The remote that will learn codes from another remote control for only $19.99 Canadian dollars is an incredible buy. My original remote control is about 3 years old now. I have not had one problem with it. Of course, if you drop the remote on the floor a dozen times, it would likely do some damage. Remotes tend to get dropped a lot, but I have been extra careful. The thing I love about this remote control is that although it has 4 learning buttons per device, you can program more than just the learning buttons. IE: If the "play" button does not make your VCR play when you press it, you can learn the proper play code on this key. You don't necessarily need to program the learning keys if you want to override a button that is already there. It also has the macro keys which I have programmed to turn on my TV, Satellite receiver, and my stereo receiver all with the push of one button. It's just incredible! I love this remote so much, I bought one for my friend, and he has been using his for 2 years now and loves it. I am keeping 2 of these in my closet in case mine ever breaks down. I would not want to be without this remote control, and will likely buy another one because the price is so irresistable.

Similar Products Used: Sony and JVC remote controls (unable to learn).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Schmaltz   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 16, 2002]
Strength:

size, # placement, ease of use/prg. Many features no other in price range has. It

Weakness:

None worthy of mention for me.

This has been the BEST remote I have had and I loved it until the POWER button stopped working. I am asking for help on this but to compare it, I bought a $35.00 unit from "BJ''s" that we returned immediately because it didn''t work at all. It was voice actvated was the only reason we chose it. I will buy another "One for All Cinema 6" as soon as I can find it! (Or the upgrade version if it exists)

Similar Products Used: Many Zenith, RCA, Sony, Etc. None match the function or ease of use.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
K G   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 25, 2000]
Strength:

Cost!! Simplicity.

Weakness:

Limited memory, Manual is incomplete and inaccurate

I'm surprised to see so few reviews on this product and other remotes as well.

I've started to assemble a home theatre (old Sony 27" Trinitron TV, old Sharp VHS VCR, Denon AVR-1800 Receiver, Panasonic A-120 DVD, Sony Carosel CD Changer, and Energy Encore Speakers). Now that I've got 5 remotes, I need to get rid of the clutter of all the remotes. The Denon came with a universal remote, but it had no learning functions. Also 2 things that I needed were missing - 1) ability to enter numbers for channel changes for the VCR and 2) Channel return for the TV.

I picked up the Cinema 6 at Costco for $20. It's a programable and learning remote. The Layout is nice and some of the buttons glow in the dark (No Backlight). It runs on 4 AAA batteries (not included). From what I can tell, it's the came as the Cinema7 but with one less component it can run. Also the Cinema7 comes in a non-learning version so be careful when buying to select the learning one.

Now for the remote itself. It does everything I need it to do. I punched in the 3 digit codes for my devices and it already worked 90% of what I needed. The Denon didn't take, so I have to search for the code. Turns out, it was in the list of codes under Amplifier not Receiver. The next thing I did was punched through the volume control for the receiver to all devices. I then got to work "Learning" some of the buttons that weren't programmed. The Manual is misleading because it leads you to believe that you can only program the L1 - L4 buttons on top. You can program most buttons on the remote. Also there is a limit to how many buttons. It says 24 buttons, but I maxed out at about 20. I also programmed a macro to turn on all devices with one button. There are 2 macro buttons, but I believe any button can be a macro button. The macros can hold up to 15 sequences. Once the button is assigned a macro, it will be set no matter which device you have selected.

Overall, it is nicely balanced, a little on the light side, which is okay. The feel is nice and the button placement suits me.

The one thing I haven't figured out is if there is a way to reset all the learning and clear the memory. I'm sure I made a mistake my first time around causing me to use up extra memory. The manual needs improvement and it would be nice to double the memory. Other than that, I'm completely satisfied with this remote. For $20 you can't go wrong.

Cheers








http://www.oneforall.com/
http://ampersand.hypermart.net/one_for_all_cinema_7_faq.htm
http://www.hudsonag.com/index.htm

Similar Products Used: Denon AVR-1800 Remote
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Neal   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Size

Weakness:

Not really "Universal" -- It wouldn't duplicate many of the most elemental keys of my TV and DSS remotes.

I bought this remote because I had purhcased the same brand years ago and was happy with the old unit until I recently added a few components.

Supposedly, this is a "universal" learning remote. However, many of the most elemental keys didn't work for the Mitsubishi WT46805 TV or the RCA DTC-100 DTV/HDTV receiver. The keys that did not work (such as the left and right arrow keys) cannot "learn" the working functions--only the generic leaning keys toward the top of unit. This makes the remote very awkward to operate, presuming that you can remember what the generic keys mean for each of your components.

So I returned the remote and bought the X10 universal learning remote #UR24A from X10.com for the same price (about $25). While not all of its action keys worked either at first, the ones that didn't were able to "learn" their functions from the original remotes. Plus, if you have X10 light switches, etc., it can also operate those. (So I can dim or brighten the lights from the couch.) The downside of this unit is that it does not have a macro key to program so that everything turns on or off with one button. Also, it does not had a DVD player function, but the factory remote for the DVD player has so many complicated functions, I don't see how you could duplicate them in an economical remote. Still, the X10 is a far superior product to the Cinema6 6800.

Similar Products Used: X10 Learning Remote # UR24A
Also considered One For All #8800
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
James   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2000]

Point of information: This model is available from RadioShack as an OEM product catalog # 15-1994. It retails between $20 and $40 depending on the sale at the tiime. Their version, however, does have a backlight and a nicer external finish. There is an incredibly detailed thread about the (astonishingly) broad capabilities of this low-price unit at RemoteCentral.com complete with programming details and links to codes and advanced functions.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2001]
Strength:

was the only universal I could find that controlled a Samsung DVD player

Weakness:

i put "controlled" in past tense because this piece of crap no longer worked properly after 90 day warranty was up

I paid 25 bucks for this heap of CRAP and the thing no longer works, barely a year after I got it. First, it would hesitate when I pushed buttons. Then, the light would start blinking like mad and erase all my codes so I had to re-program and re-learn all the keys again (this happened more times than i can cound, and with an infinitesmal number of fresh batteries). Then, it stopped learing the new functions on the 4 keys. The thing wouldnt blink or do anything while trying to program it. I have used this thing regularly MAYBE 4 or 5 months since i owned it. It sat without batteries for the past 4 months because i got tired of reprogramming it every 5 minutes. There is no excuse for a fairly expensive (for a remote control) product to crap out within a year, thats why i paid more money. This thing was a piece of crap and I feel like I've been ripped off.

I say "was", because after it stopped learning I took a hammer to this piece of $hit and smashed it into about 50,000 pieces. It's remnants, along with the sHredded remains of the owners manual, are currently en-route back to the OneForAll company in Twinsburg Ohio.

HAVE FUN GLUING IT BACK TOGETHER YOU MONEY SUCKING A-HOLES. SELL IT TO SOME OTHER SUCKER.

Do NOT buy one for all remotes...THEY SUCK. I should have stuck with Zenith remotes, which always have worked perfectly and which is what I currently use.

DONT BUY ONE FOR ALL

Similar Products Used: Sony universals, Jensen, Zenith universals are the best.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Reece Watkins   Casual Listener [Nov 04, 1999]
Strength:

Price, Learning features, more functionality than smaller remotes

Weakness:

none significant

For $20 at Wal-Mart, this is an absolute steal. Right out of the package, I'm able to control my VCR, DSS, DVD, TV, Receiver, and CD player.

I broke my remote for my Panasonic VCR a year ago, and haven't been able to find a universal that could control as many of its functions as this one does.

One for all also has great web site support for the newest codes for equipment, too.

Similar Products Used: Zenith 4-in-1 remote
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andrew   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2002]
Strength:

Macro capabilities, easy to set up and use

Weakness:

Small buttons, not backlit, limited remapping capabilities

Yes, the buttons are small (especially the volume/channel buttons, which should by rights be among the most prominent buttons on any remote), and it's not backlit (the gimmicky number keys glow in the dark, as do the learning keys), but it does about 90% of what components' remotes do at an unbelievable price, and it offers PIP and macro capabilities (a definite boon to those of us with non-technically minded spouses). The only thing I'd ask for, given its price range, is remapping capabilities -- I'd love to be able to use the GUIDE button for my TV's XDS function.

I'd be interested to hear people's experience with the new 56-button remote Toshiba is including with its current TVs - the older 36-button predecessor is the best remote I have seen in terms of ergonomics.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba, RCA
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Andre   Casual Listener [Jul 31, 2001]
Strength:

Price and the learning feature. ALso the macro keys.

Weakness:

For the price, none. I just wich there was a couple more macro keys and a couple more learning keys.

The best value for money, I have a Sony Wega with PIP, A toshiba DVD, Technics receiver, Technics CD player, JVC VCR and a digital cable unit and thie remote contols everything with flying color including the PIP.

Once I bought one I loved it and decided to buy three more, one for my bedroom, one for my bother and one for my parents. All of the units except for a CD player that my borther had worked very well. Units with either buttons that are not supported or have special keys for special functions can be handled by the learning feature very nicely. I am yet to see a frequency that this remote was not able to learn.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com