Marantz RC2000 Mark 2 Home Theater Universal remote Remote Controls

RC2000 Mark 2 Home Theater Universal remote

Top line universal remote with illuminated buttons.

User Reviews (64)

Showing 1-10 of 64  
sactohye   Audio Enthusiast [May 28, 2005]
Strength:

Can learn all codes from various remotes. Direct buttons. Macros.

Weakness:

Large and heavy. Hard on batteries.

I wanted a learning remote which could learn all the codes from all the remotes for my HT system. The Marantz RC2000 Mark 2 more than filled the bill. I was able to program ALL the codes from all six remotes for all the devices in my HT system. Even all those codes only made a small dent in the RC2000 Mark 2’s memory. This allowed me to put all the original remote controls away for safe keeping and put an end to remote clutter. The Direct buttons are a very powerful feature of this remote. They allow programming of any special codes from a remote. In addition, the buttons can be renamed. While programming the remote and renaming all the Direct buttons can be tedious, it’s worth all the effort as it makes using the remote that much easier. The Macro buttons are equally handy to set up all the codes to turn on the equipment and select what one wants for inputs, etc. Makes operating one’s equipment that much easier. The RC2000 Mark 2 is a large remote and requires two hands to operate it. It is rather top-heavy, especially with alkaline cells installed. The backlight makes operation easier in a dark room, but it can take its toll on the batteries. This remote is rather hard on a set of batteries. Despite its heft and appetite for batteries, I have been very happy using the RC2000 Mark 2. It does everything I want a remote to do and does it well. One can’t ask for more than that.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
el boom   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2004]
Strength:

Can be programmed to do a lot given enough patience with it.

Weakness:

It's a fat, heavy sucker that breaks over time. Also a battery gobbler. If you see one on the used market, caveat emptor.

Granted this remote has been out there for a while, so I won't be trashing it for it's relative bulk but it does have one serious design flaw (for any of you who want a used model). Over time, some of the keys stop working. On two remotes I owned, there was a creeping malaise of buttons that stop working reliably. Over time, it became difficult and then impossible to use the remote. I've owned two of them with the same problem. The first was replaced by Marantz. That was very nice of them since it was out of warranty. However, the same problem came along and basically proved to me that it's a product quality issue.

Similar Products Used: Harmony 659 (great remote)
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
briangm   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 06, 2004]
Strength:

Total flexibility. Learns everything. If you buy a new receiver or dvd player, it's a snap to add it to the remote!

Weakness:

Heavier than most remotes.

We have used this remote for 4 years and it has done everything asked of it. Initial programming is a task, but the unit operates flawlessly once that's done. The main buttons on the MkII have been repositioned and are now convenient. Batteries tend to last about 6 months in every day use, as we use the backlight very seldom.

Similar Products Used: Harmony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Johnny Canuck   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2003]
Strength:

Tactile feel Programability and labelling Macros

Weakness:

Battery drain (although I do use rechargeables)

I got tired of having a seemingly endless number of remotes and tired several universals before I came across this one. The problem with most universals is the pre-labelling does not suit most brands. The nicest thing about the RC2000 is the ability to self-label up to 32 buttons per item (ie. 32 for DVD, 32 for VCR, etc). The remote has a great tactile feel and the ability to store 14 macros. An awesome unit although I am thinking of upgrading to a Philips Pronto Neo for the coolness factor.

Similar Products Used: Various Radio Shack Sony RM-VL900
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
s_d_gilchrist   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2002]
Strength:

Convenient programmability. Flexible. Replaces all other remotes. Real buttons so you can use it 'by touch.' If you factor in bang for the buck, this is far and away the best remote on the planet. Even today, years after its design, nobody has caught up, though many have tried.

Weakness:

Top heavy. Needs newer batteries to have full IR range. Print on buttons wears off easily.

I love this remote. I had a brief flirtation with touch screen, and hated it. I tried a Home Theater Master SL9000 and although it's easier to use one-handed and has a stronger IR transmitter, it is sadly lacking in flexibility and functionality. I haven't found a remote that can do the kind of things this remote can do, at any price. The new Home Theater Master remotes come close, but cost more. Battery use: I know this remote like the back of my hand. I keep the backlight and beep turned off and the batteries last and last. Only occasionally do I need the light to access an advanced function on the LCD panel. Whenever the screen-printed labels on my RC2000MkII begin to fade, I just buy another one on ebay and put the old one up for auction. It costs me about $20 to upgrade to a new one if I get a good deal on it and sell the old one before it gets too worn. I have KEF Reference series speakers all around in my HT, and the mother of all passive subs, the famous isobaric Alon, powered by a single Classe monoblock. It's fast and accurate, and goes down to single-digit Hz (!) and puts the biggest and best Velodynes, RELs and Hsus to shame. I have a Marantz receiver sending out the power (one day I'll be able to afford some serious separates), and I have a very good Marantz CD player. I've got the biggest Panasonic superflat monitor, and a wonderful Sonly satellite receiver. But most of my gear (except speakers) I will probably upgrade several times. This remote will outlast all of it. A remote upgrade for me is a new RC2000MkII. All the fancy big-buck remotes out there are overkill, and cannot justify their price. If you were considering a fancy touchscreen remote, just find one of these for under a hundred bucks on ebay, program it to control your entire system with precision and flexibility, and then buy a few dozen DVDs with the money you saved. You'll have old tech that is far superior to touchscreen in most of the ways that matter. Now, if we could just convince Marantz to update this design with rechargeable batts and a docking station, we'd be in fat city.

Similar Products Used: Philips pronto, Home Theater Master then 2 RC2000 MkII's. This is #3. I'll use them as long as I can find new ones to buy.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nopcbs   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2002]
Strength:

Bright display, can learn any remote, rugged, good feel.

Weakness:

Heavy. Fairly high battery consumption. I wish it only cost $50, I'd get two more.

The Marantz RC2000 MkII is an absolutely superb remote control. It's learning and soft-button naming capability mean that you can use it to replace essentially any (working) remote control. The back-lighting is excellent and makes it easy to use in the dark. It is a bit on the heavy side, but this gives it a feeling of substance and quality. It is a little hard on batteries, but if you get yourselfteo sets of 4 each AA 1800 MAh NiMH batteries (about $1 each on eBay) and a Ray-O-Vac 1h charger you'll only need to change them every couple of months and you'll always have a fresh set ready to go. Non-volatile memory means, no reprogramming when you change batteries. This thing beats the snots out of any touch screen unit. Nothing replaces real buttons for tactile "feel".

Similar Products Used: Various one-For-All units.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Viker1   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2002]
Strength:

Easy to program, and extreme versitility

Weakness:

battery intensive, get some rechargables and save some money

I recently picked up a RC2000 off of ebay for a very good price, and Im pleased to say that I have eliminated six of my remotes and use only the Marantz unit. Its a wonderful unit and the flexibilty allows for multipule functions, easily programmed, and I do prefer the button feel to a touch screen. This unit is still the "God" of all universal remotes on the market today.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
drew   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2000]
Strength:

Oh my! This thing can handle any component. I could probably use it to feed my cat if I took enough time to program it. Handles all components -- not just a few buttons, but every button of every component.

Weakness:

It's a big ole' thing, but it has to be. Not really a problem, but worth noting just to know what you'll have.

I love it. Programming it was actually fun.

As I opened the box, I thought: "Why did I spend $190 on a remote control when I have 5 already?"

Now I know. The thing reads my mind -- each button does exactly what I expect it to. I can honestly put all my component remotes in the basement and never touch them again. There is no reason remaining to use any of them.

The macros are wonderful, let you time the intervals for components that might need more time. The 4 macros handle 20 button presses each, more than enough to power up all components, set the volume and channel and speakers to appropriate levels. All with one button press.

I'm floored by this thing. And if I figure out how to feed my cat with one button, I'll let you know.

Similar Products Used: Sony Touchscreen
Remotes that came with receiver and TV
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fran   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 05, 2000]
Strength:

easily programed all components

Weakness:

slightly big, but needs to be.

This product was actually my third choice. I liked the IRIQ until reading the bad press in magazine reports and here. Second choice was the Pronto except that I could not bring myself to spending $500 (half of an Outlaw 5 channel amp) for a remote. I read reports on the RC2000 and the dealer let me play with one for about an hour and knocked $50 off. I figured I'd give it a chance.
I was very happy with the programing, it really was easy and fun. I find it learned all my components very quickly with out one problem. I find myself fine tuning various modes as I get more use to the operation. There is NOTHING that I have wanted this thing to do that it could not. I am very happy with this product for less than half the price of a pronto.
One of my main concerns was to eliminate 8 remotes and to have my wife be able to operate the entire home theater instead of just the TV. She has become confident with the use in less than a week of use.
Great value, great decision to buy this remote.

Similar Products Used: component remotes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ryan Rayda   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2000]
Strength:

Learns anything you throw at it. Looks really cool. The buttons feel very high-end. Excellent backlighting. Extremely versatile.

Weakness:

Only get four spaces to name the direct keys. Extremely directional IR beam (it is strong but very directional).

This is a good remote.

It will learn any IR code you want it to, it will let you label all of these codes, it has great backlighting, it looks very high-end, the buttons feel good, and it does all of this very well. However, I only used this remote for a month before I cashed it in on eBay and bought myself a Pronto. Why, you ask?

Well, I had it all programmed to work everything in my fairly elaborate HT system, and work it did, but not like I wanted it to. The biggest problem I had was the fact that its IR beam was so damned directional that I had to do a remote-ponting jig every time I wanted to boot up my system. The thing just wouldn't operate ANYTHING unless it was pointed directly at the device. All of this would not be such a big deal except for the fact that I have an LCD projector for my video display and it has to be in the back of the room (obviously). Pointing the remote at this thing every time I wanted it to work was a major pain. It isn't just the projector, either. All of my components on the rack at the front of my HT needed to have the remote pointed right at them for it to work. No obstructions, no corners, no nothing in front of them. Just a very directional remote control that kind of defeats the purpose of a remote control.

I couldn't even use the macros because I had to move the remote in a sort of synchronized dance with the macro for the commands to be registerd by the devices. Hmmmm. . .
This is a good remote, and maybe I just had a bad unit, but this is unacceptable for a $250 remote. It should be so strong that it can operate my neighbor's TV from MY couch. Not so. So I cashed it in and bought a Philips Pronto. Now there's a remote worth every penny. Do yourself a favor, scrape up the extra $50 and check out a Pronto instead.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha receiver remote, Sony RM-AV2000 touchscreen, Philips Pronto.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 64  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com