Lovan Sovereign HiFi Rack Racks & Stands

Available At:
Sovereign HiFi Rack

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
thomaschh   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 06, 2008]
Strength:

Build quality, sturdy, very clean and modern design

Weakness:

None.

We've ust moved into a new house (from a condo) and I've been actively building a powerful mid-fi system for the past three or four months. When it came time to look for a rack I was instantly drawn to the Lovan Sovereign line because of it's looks and the great reviews I've read all over the Internet. Like usual I start my purchase search on Craigslist (if I can save $500 buying something lightly used I've now got $500 more for a much nicer pre-amp) and I didn't find anything at first. But last week I typed in "Lovan" and up popped a complete 4-tier rack with glass shelves for $100. Done deal, went and picked it up instantly.

The quality of this rack far exceeded my expectations. The glass shelves are very, very thick and even without filling the base with sand (which I'll do soon) the stand is very, very sturdy. I obviously scored a huge deal, but even for $800 I would still buy this rack.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
James Geib   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2003]

Excellent stand (See previous review), but I have to add that lead should not be used as a filler to any stand due to it's toxicity. Lead is harmful to both humans and the environment, and therefore should not be used to fill any stand.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jamesgeib   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 13, 2002]
Strength:

Elegant looks. Very sturdy. Lead fillability (New hifi term!)

Weakness:

Maybe a tad on the high side as far as price, but one could pay a lot more for a lesser stand.

I saw this rack on display at the store, and I had to have it. This was before I really started reading about the hifi world and the importance of vibration dampening, deadening, leveling, etc. The rack is beautiful with the dark cherry finish (I forget what the actual color name is). I used this rack for about 8 months with all of my source components, including a heavy Luxman receiver. I have since upgraded my components, and the rack is in storage until I move into a larger house. My current system resides in built-in shelving I built in my current house to increase my floor space. Great rack, both aestetically and functionally. I would recommend this rack to anyone who could not afford the Naim Fraim!

Similar Products Used: Home-built wall unit.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Eric Nelson   Audiophile [Feb 08, 2000]
Strength:

Inexpensive, nice looking, sturdy, flexable configuration

Weakness:

Thin shelves

These are nice racks for the money. I like being able to
move them into different configurations - I bought 6 shelves
and made 3 2 shelf racks out of them.

Two of the boards were damaged in shipping because of
poor packing at the factory, but they
replaced them without any hassle. One of the frames
I bought was a tall one, and its 3 feet didn't quite
fit into the frame below it, so I had to bend it out
a little (none of the short shelves had this problem).

There is a trick to unpacking the frames:

1) take your wedding ring off (I scratched one
of the shelves with my ring).

2) look at the legs of the frame - the end of the
plastic wrap can be found there, and you
can start unwinding - do not try to rip the
plastic wrap off.

I am thinking of getting a 200# turntable (Nottingham
master reference), and I think that the shelves are a
little too thin for heavy stuff - so I may replace one
of the shelves with a piece of iron or something.

I rated it 3 stars overall, because 5 star racks are a
lot better (RixRax for example) for a lot more money.


OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2001]
Strength:

Appearance, Size of shelves, Isolation properties, Flexibility in arrangement, Ability to add shelves later

Weakness:

Doesnt both me but once set up you cannot move it without taking " apart" ( see review below )

Casually got the idea of purchasing a stereo rack when we decided to rearrange the room in which my stereo was in.. was using a large oak armoire for my rack. I started evaluating racks and of course several things soon became important to me. One was construction quality. Other important items were durability, if the rack were expandable or not, it's relative sound isolation abilities, and in general how good it looks. There are many good racks on the market and by no means was my choice restricted to " only the best ". I was also limited by a budget which for me was set at $400.

The Lovan Sovereign series racks are normally priced beyond this price range. I also wanted the amp stand in addition to the 4 shelves and boards. I managed to find a person who sold this equipment on the side, calling it " b Stock" which suggests it has very minor problems. The rack I received to my detailed eye has no discernible defects in any way, and I bought black on black. Noting in the $400 price range in my opinion even came close to this rack.

I was hesitant to buy it due to the reviews above talking about how easily the shelves and stands are scratched. For those not familiar with the Lovan line, their racks are composed of individual "shelves" which fit on top of a lower " shelf" via 3 pointed feet, designed for further sound isolation. It gives each shelf the appearance it is almost floating on air above the shelf below it, and is a very striking appearance. The downside to this is once the shelves are stacked on top of one another, you cannot move it without taking your stereo components off of each shelf and then moving. The setup also take a little time as you need to adjust each foot to level the racks. I assembled my stereo and 5 shelves in under 30 minutes so it isn’t an ordeal by any means.

Returning to the " easily scratched" comments, my experience was just the opposite. A few times I " tried" hard to scratch the shelves and once even the metal stands. I managed to completely assemble the unit without a single scratch and don't think I could have easily scratched it had I tried.

Also for those audiophiles who really want to isolate the vibrations, the 3 legs on each stand can be filled with either lead/steel shot or sand to further weight it down. I chose not to do this and find the normal rack weight sufficiently able to make the system sturdy.

I don't have a lot of experience with other racks, and the purpose of this review is not to suggest I managed to find the absolute best rack on the market. retail on this rack as I bought it was well over $800 ( I bought the Sovereign 2+2 plus bought the amp stand, all with black boards ), so for $400 it is an excellent buy. I'm totally happy with every aspect of the rack. it does not have a cable management system so if that is important to you then stay away from this rack. However, with my equipment in place I truly do not notice the cables and have not yet even attempted to organize them. This was a concern of mine prior to buying a rack and in the end I chose this rack due to it's looks. Once it arrived and I set it up, I was even more impressed with it's sturdiness and ability to liven up the sound of my system. Of course going with new silver interconnects had a lot to do with that as well! All in all I am very pleased with this rack and have no regrets at all!

Similar Products Used: None, Evaluated Sound Organisation, Sanus systems EAB, Standesign
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jay   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 31, 2001]
Strength:

Beautiful looking, Great design in stability.Modular
and expandable

Weakness:

A little pricey.

After weeks of looking at numerous audio racks, and reading the reviews here, I purchased the Lovan Sovereign 2x2 rack. I ordered the light wood shelves with an additional 10" support and shelf. The combination of the light wood and black supports is beautiful. the isolation cone system delivers in stability and sound vibration prevention.I experienced no concerns in regard to shelf scratching during unpacking or set-up.The rack cannot be moved upon set-up(unless you unstack all of your components). Make sure of where you want the rack placed before adding components and wiring everything.
I physically checked out the Bello racks and was suprised to discover how wobbley they are. $700-$1200 and they swayed with minimal force.
The Lovan system is very stable, with an architectual beauty. A great final addition to my HT .

Similar Products Used: Salamander, Bello.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Gabriel Villareal   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 24, 1999]

This rack is amazing. Really contemporary look and awesome resonance control with the tripod system. The rack is very sturdy, the paint on it is highly resistant (against scratches). Easily to put together and to detach. You can get this rack from soundcity for only $440.00+S/H.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Frank Cheng   Audiophile [Jun 11, 2001]
Strength:

Modular flexibility, sturdiness/rigidness, isolation feets.

Weakness:

thin boards

In terms of looks, I think Standesign's design series is the best looking, unfortunately, it cannot hold heavy equipment, and the holes in the spine column prevents you from filling it with sand. I also like the Solidsteel 401 racks with isolation feet under each shelf. But this rack is the most flexible and provides isolation for each/every component. I have 9 units holdind my audio/video gears. It is POSSIBLE to fill sand into the legs.

There are gaps at the bottom of each legs, and also at the top where the vertical legs joints the horizontal beams. One of my friend use a glue gun (One that mels the glue sticks) to seal these holes. I used a white glue from craft stores.

First, turn each unit upside down, stick a long steel rod through the hole at the bottom of each leg, and hammer the rod to knock out the plate on top of each leg. This allows you to use a wood stick to apply glues to those gaps. When the glue is dried, attach the isolation cones to the bottom of each leg, and then fill in sand. At the end, use a rubber hammer to hammer the top plate back into each leg.

I've also applied strips of sound damping material (the type they use in cars) in the inside face of the horizontal bars.

The shelves are not too bad considering how thin they are. It is capable to hold my Yamaha RX-V1 on 1 shelf. However, I am having a piece of granite made for my turntable which is also quite heavy.

The result with all these tweaks is an excellent, sturdy rack for a very affordable price! I am giving it a 4 star because of the thin shelves.

Similar Products Used: Racks from Atlantis, Standesign, and Solidsteel
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric Nelson   Audiophile [Jul 13, 2000]
Strength:

flexible configuration, attractive

Weakness:

easy to scratch, thin shelves

I really like the shelves - I bought two extra shelves
so that I could have three 2-shelf stacks.

If you buy the shelves, make sure that you take off any
rings before unpacking the rack, as the black finish
is easily scratched. Do not try to rip the plastic wrap
off - start at one of the feet and peel it off by following
the same path it was applied on.

Don't try to use sand to fill the legs - since you fill
them through the holes in the bottom, sand will clog up
the threads on the spike feet. I used lead shot, and it
worked very well.

The MDF shelves are OK for light stuff, but my turntable
is over 100 lbs, so I had to build my own shelf out
of 3/4" plywood. A friend of a friend had stone shelves
made for the rack, which would work well, I am sure.

Similar Products Used: none.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com