Vibrapod vibation isolators Others

Vibrapod vibation isolators Others 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Dec 11, 2007]
jimiles
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Improvements that even your non-audiophile girlfriend can hear at price that won't have you sleeping on the couch.

Weakness:

Not necessairly a weakness, but you must pay strict attention to the weight capacity of each model.

Vibrapods proved to be a signficant upgrade to my Polk RTA 15TL speakers. The Polks are a large floorstanding speaker of early 1990's vintage. I used two Cusinart end-grain 14x17 chopping blocks for bases. The five vibrapods went on top of those (face up) in a pattern that achieved good load distribution. Finally, I heaved the Polks onto thier new homes. My first observation was very non-sound quality related; the chopping blocks slid efortlessley arcross my carpeted floor, making it a breeze to fine tune the speaker positions.

The difference was profound. It took me a moment to determine that I'd made things radically better and not worse! Oh yea...way better. Bass is no longer omni-present. Deep bass extension is way up (Down?!?). Bass over-hang is a thing of the past. Midrange clarity took a huge step forward on music. Dialog clarity on movies is just off-the-charts. I can't say enough about that last point.


The effects of isolation are additive. Isolating your Blu-Ray player is good, isolating your speakers is better, isolating both is just insane. Though I have not yet attempted it, I suspect there are serious video related improvements to isolating televisions and projectors. Please contact me with your results if you try this before I do!

Moral to this story; your existing system has a TON of potential waiting to be released. Before you consider a mega-dollar component or cable upgrade, apply a liberal dose of Vibrapods starting with your speakers and source components.


Polk RTA 15TL
B&K AVR-205i
Sony BDP-S300
AppleTV
Equitech 1.5Q
AudioQuest NRG5, NRG1.5, CV-6, Optilink-5, YIQ-3

Similar Products Used:

Iso Nodes <----these rock profoundly for isolating small devices.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 29, 2003]
Randy
AudioPhile

Strength:

Incredible improvement, for so little cost!!! Don't you love science, when applied correctly? In my case, am using a set of four Model 1s. All said, my initial skepticism is long gone!

Weakness:

Requires a little patience, in finding optimal placement of pods. Can be overly squished, if using improperly matched pods for weight of component (nothing that 15 minutes at 400 degrees can't solve, though!).

Whoa!!! I can't believe the difference that a few little pieces of rubber acn make! Then again, the less vibration that my PlayStation 2 is subject to, the better the laser focuses. The end result? Much better sound (wider soundstage, more dynamic, and much deeper and controlled bass). Lest I forget the overall improvement in picture quality as well. All my games and dvds look much smoother, and have better contrast. One of the first improvements that I actually noticed was a pronounced lessening of my tv's scan-lines, when using the Vibrapod-equipped PlayStation 2. I must note that the effects are much more pronounced with the pods actually placed upside-down. Some experimenting, with key placement points might also be necessary.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 17, 2003]
toonrguy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

vibration management,tihter bass

Weakness:

get them the right side up

At first when I put them under my Sony 999es dvd player it made the sound very strident.Bugged the heck out of me.Luckily I read that you can place them face up or dpwn I tried the other way.All of the sudden it was strident but smooth, like an SACD is supposed to sound.They work well at taking care of vibration.I didn't notice any more clarity in image but more detailed bass.I just sent away for some more to try under my Music Fidelity A3-24 DAC.We'll see what happens next.If its more successful I'll write another review. gear:magnepan 12 speakers(front) mag-center mag mmg rears Rotel 1066 preamp Rotel 985 amp music fidelity ac2-24 dac transparent cable outlaw IBCM bass management

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 07, 2002]
lennychen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

- Significant increase in detail - Bass more well rounded and defined - Better separation of instruments

Weakness:

- A little short for my NAD equipment; I had to remove the feet on my C541 CD player.

I purchased eight Model 1s for use with my NAD C541 CD player and C420 Tuner. Currently, I have both units stacked (C541 on the bottom, feet removed) on top of a symmetrical arrangement of the 8 vibrapods on a really cheap ($14) wood rack. This rack is inbetween my speakers (B&W DM601S2s), and hence absorb a lot of vibrations (given that the rack is made of wood). I purchased the vibrapods because I discovered that my equipment was subject to a lot of vibrations due to my set up. I could feel these vibrations quite well at moderate volume when I put my hand on my CD player. Before I started using the vibrapods, I had thought that there was a lack of realism in instruments and vocals. After I installed the vibrapods, there was a significant improvement in realism of instruments (e.g. Sting - All This Time) and vocals (e.g. Celine Dion, Mariah Carey, Jill Scott) across most of my CDs. Bass was much more detailed and well defined, and a little deeper than before (e.g. Jamiroquai). Also, I found that instruments are better separated (e.g. Sting - All This Time). I think people will certainly have mixed experiences with the vibrapods, depending a lot on factors such as: - Quality of equipment and built in isolation (The NAD uses hard rubber feet) - Current level of vibrations experienced by the equipment - Set up in room of current equipment (e.g. racks, stands, etc.) I believe the improvements showed up very well because of the significant amount of vibrations my CD player was being subject to. I think these vibrations were creating errors in reading the CDs, which in turn reduced the detail retrieval capabilities of the C541. I would recommend the vibrapods wholeheartedly to those who know that their equipment experiences a lot of vibrations, especially for mechanical equipment such as CD players and turntables. There was a significant reduction in the amount of vibrations I could feel on my CD player. (but still not zero - for that I think I will need to ditch my $14 rack and buy a quality metal rack) You can try them yourself (in the US) at AudioAdvisor.com or from Vibrapod.com. Try them for up to 30 days, and if they don''t work for you, just return them. And no, I don''t represent Vibrapod or AudioAdvisor...I''m just a college senior.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2000]
thomas weeks
Audiophile

Strength:

very inexpensive, does just exactly what they advertise it will,easy to use

Weakness:

none so far

i have had a recurring problem with my cddvd player skipping due to the close proximity of my subwoofer. i knew i needed to somehow isolate the cd player from the booming vibrations put off by the subwoofer. this was what i was hoping for when i bought 4 vibrapods at 6 dollars each and put them under the feet of my cd player. what i got was so much more. not only was the skipping problem gone but, all of a sudden i was hearing sounds out of one of my favorite and well known cd's that i had never heard before. vocals became much clearer and separated. the bass from the subwoofer was crisp and crashing. even the midranges were operating in high gear. i have tried too many things like expensive cable and interconnects that were supposed to work magic and been greatly disappointed. these vibrapods REALLY made a difference. and at only 6 bucks apiece. maybe if i had known about these earlier i might have saved some money on other more costly solutions that didn't work.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 19, 2000]
Mark Mendenhall
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

effectiveness, price

Weakness:

none

For those of you constantly upgrading and spending thousands and thousands of dollars in search of audio nirvana, do yourself a favor and try this product before spending another dime. I know it doesn't make a lot of sense, but this simple upgrade will probably do more for the quality of your system and your music than the thousands you will spend on your next major upgrade as you continue to suffer from audio nervosa. Unbelievable.

Similar Products Used:

metal cones

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 27, 2000]
ROSS PETERSON
Audiophile

Strength:

cheap

Weakness:

not the best

I put 4 number 3s under my Bryston 4BST.They gave me a slight improvement in soundstage width and I noticed a slight improvement in instrument seperation.If you can afford it,though,the Yams are alot better especially under cd players and dvds.

Similar Products Used:

Yamamura SP-1 supports.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 1999]
Sean H
Audiophile

Strength:

Affordable. Easy to use. They work!

Weakness:

None

Simply put these definately made a difference in my system, and a positive one. I use them under my integrated amp, transport and DAC. I seen improvments in soundstaging and imaging where images are rendered more tightly and are clearer. In my system they were most noticeable when used under the DAC where I did some comparison between using the Vibrapods, simple do-it-yourself Rollerblocks and using no vibration control at all. Though the DIY Rollerblocks seemed to equal the improvement the Vibrapods made, in the way of increased detail retreival and soundstaging, the Rollerblocks seemed to add some brightness and artificial air to the presentation. Using nothing yielded a more unclear, somewhat lackluster presentation of microdynamics and detail. The Vibrapods create a blacker background by way of lowering the noise floor which in turn seems to smooth treble and added some much needed warmth. There is now a much greater sense of cleanliness to the presentation in my system which is very apparent in dense passages of recordings.

They have really added a nice improvement to my system. For what I paid for them and what they have done to my system I find 5 stars are in order here for value and overall in rating.

Used with:
MSB Tech Link DAC
Jolida JD-1701 hybrid integrated
Panasonic A110 DVD/CD transport

Similar Products Used:

DIY "Rollerblocks"

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 20, 1999]
Jay
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

n/a

Weakness:

Simply make no improvment.

They didn't make my system sound any better. In fact, I felt they made my system sound worse. Black diamond racing cones work better, but still don't worth it. Now I use 12*12*2 inch hard packing sponge under my CD player and amp, they work much better.

Similar Products Used:

Black diamond racing cones.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 20, 2001]
Parasound
Audiophile

Strength:

decouples speaker from stand

Weakness:

Does not work well with ALL audio equipment, it actually made my preamplifier sound worse!

First I put them on my CD player, then on my amp. The sound became somewhat better (not a huge difference)I then bought a third set for my preamp, and the sound degraded. I took them off and while I was puting the stock feet back on I had the idea of taking the setr off the power amp and using the two sets under my speakers, (now that I had two sets of the same model vibrapod. After putting them underneith my speaker in between the bottom of the speaker and the stand plate I realized that vibrapods work their magic best with speakers. I can't believe what a HUGE improvement I got. My speakers are so much less "wooly" sounding and now that they are decoupled there is less dirstortion wich means that I can push them farther then before. I love them!!

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com