Sony SDP-E800 Others

SDP-E800

Dolby Digital Processor

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
mgmopar   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 20, 2014]

I did have a slight his when I first started using the unit. I have no idea if my fix would help others but when I used a ground loop isolator (rs 270-054) to the rear channel amp, I could no long detect any hiss. even at very high or low gain. Currently I have no system in place after moving. but my future system will still be built off this unit. Great unit for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
pathighgate   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2005]
Strength:

Great sound processing Simple to configure Runs so hot it helps heat the house in the winter

Weakness:

Heat: This thing gets unreasonably hot. You could almost fry an egg on it. I have to keep it seperated from other gear to avoid damage. Delay in switching sound modes: There is a noticeable delay when you change any system setting. This makes quick comparisons of the numerous modes for finding the best sound difficult and frustrating. No direct source input on remote. With all the buttons on the remote (there are 27, four of which that are used with any frequency) , you’d think they’d include a direct source button for every input (they have this on the front of the unit). Instead, it only offers left and right buttons to page through the sources. Not a huge deal, but annoying nonetheless.

I must have been lucky, as unlike nearly every review I’ve read on this product there is virtually no noticeable hiss. I do get a very faint hissing noise from the rear speakers, but that was present before I added this to my system. I purchased this from someone online for $50 as a stopgap solution to get Dolby digital in my bedroom home theatre without purchasing a new A/V receiver. My existing receiver had six channel inputs but no digital decoder. I was able to run the analog lines out from the processor to my receiver with no problems. Viola! Instant digital surround! This is much more then just a Dolby digital decoder; it’s a fantastic audio signal processor. Depending on how you set it, audio from any source sounds better and richer. The pro-logic decoder is hands down better then the one built in my receiver. At this point, I essentially us it as a pre-amp; all my audio sources are fed into and switched via the Sony. Satellite, DVD and HTPC are run into the three digital inputs, with my CD player running through the analog. The only thing my receiver is used for is speaker amplification. I am very happy with this unit.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mrmopar5287   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 06, 2004]
Strength:

Overall great performance than newer DD decoders built into receivers. I think that years back when DD was first making it into home theatre, this unit was much more expensive (on the order of about $600 when new) and Sony used greater quality digital components in the construction of this decoder. Now, DD decoder chips are probably a dime a dozen and I'm sure quality of sound has slipped a little bit except in top-of-the-line equipment. As a result, this decoder has a bit higher sound quality than most new consumer grade products available. The Sony sound processing modes that are present in this unit can be tailored to make any movie sound as good or better than in the theatre. There are sound settings that can bring out the best in action oriented movies, and then another setting makes dialogue driver movies stand out even better. Options for tailoring sound to your source are great and easily controlled. Level adjustments for each channel are present and easy to make, and Bass and Treble controls can be changed for each channel as well.

Weakness:

No DTS processing. This was to be expected because the unit was made and even discontinued before DTS began to make large inroads to home theatre. No big deal for me, I just use the built in decoder in my receiver for DTS sources. No subwoofer level adjustment for stereo sources in acoustic sound mode. Again, this is not a big deal for me because I don't often tweak the subwoofer level when listening to music sources.

This digital processor is a top notch piece of equipment, especially considering how old it is. I bought it used on Ebay, but really it was almost new still in the box. I use it for Dolby Digital decoding when hooked up to my Sony STR-DE945 receiver, and have generally found it to be a better performer than the build in decoding chip in the receiver! Other reviewers have noted some hiss present, but this seperate decoder shows less hiss than the built in decoding of my receiver. Overall, I use this decoder most all of the time with all audio sources that I listen to. The only time I do not use it is when listening to a SACD or DVD-A disc (direct sound from the disc player - no need for decoding) or watching a DTS DVD movie.

Similar Products Used: none, other than the built in decoding of my receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Bryan Stramer   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 30, 2003]
Strength:

attractive design, very sleek, many options, good remote, includes a very hard to find AC3-RF input, excellent price

Weakness:

HEAT, lack of DTS, lack of bass management, merely acceptable S/N ratio

Great for an older unit. Hissing is noticeable, but overexaggerated. Very attractive front plate. This unit has some issues, however. Heat is a problem. This thing gets VERY hot when running for more than an our, due to lack of heat vents on top of case. Also, lack of DTS will not be overlooked by most users. Also, bass management has surprisingly few options. On the other hand, it has many DSP options, many modes (most of which are proprietary), and an EXCELLENT remote control. Very good preamp for its price, but pass on this unit if you got enough cash for a higher-end unit.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
3038   Casual Listener [May 15, 2002]
Strength:

good sound, all the inputs I need

Weakness:

none so far

great sound. As for the hissing sound, I only pick it up when I am listening to a poorly recored soundtrack. Other than that nice for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
drichardson   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2002]
Strength:

Many modes, digital ins and outs, inexpensive

Weakness:

Poor preamp, Hisses like a rattlesnake on speed

This unit has the potenital to be the best DD processor for the money but, it comes up short. I bought this unit and it arrived in perfect condition. I had previously sold my Fosgate 3A due to the lack of dolby digital. I set it up and I was amazed by the sound of my DVDs. I listened for a week and I kept hearing something strange. When I STOPPED playing my music I noticed the infamous Hiiisssss! I decided to isolate it. Couldn''t do it. Lived with it...until I found a Pioneer Elite SP-99D! No hiss and great dolby digital! Not as many modes but better performance.

Similar Products Used: Denon AVP-8000, Pioneer Elite SP-99D, Fosgate models 3A,4, and 5, Yamaha DSP-1
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
jeff   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2000]
Strength:

lots of digital inputs and an input for the vcr, great prosessing power and soundfields

Weakness:

preamp is very noisy, to much hiss in the background

the sony is a good unit if it wasnt for the real bad hissing problems. after about 5 months i went and got the yamaha ddp2 and its a hell of better unit,but has less inputs.the decoder chip is lot better in dolby than the sony and the soundfields and more defind.anone that has the ddp2 let me know how you would review it and give me a response on it .........

Similar Products Used: yamaha ddp-2 dolby digital decoder
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Clayton   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 10, 2000]
Strength:

Lots of Inputs, Optical IN/OUT, Individual Speaker Control, small package

Weakness:

No S-Video

This is an excellent addition to a receiver or DVD that does not include Dolby 5.1 decoding built-in. I have a PC-DVD with a RealMagic Hollywood Plus card feeding the Co-Axial input and then the output is feed into a JVC Dolby digital ready amplifier. The sound when watch DVD's is stuningly clear there is no hiss as mentioned in the other reviews. I picked this up in a discontinued sale at Sears for under $100 can't beet that with a stick at $200 it would still be a deal.

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon ADP303
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Reg Logerman   Casual Listener [Dec 18, 1999]
Strength:

Great bang for the buck $189

Weakness:

no DTS

I only use it for DD 5.1, I haven't used it to decode dolby pro logic. Great DD sound from this processor (didn't notice any hiss). I especially like the fact that you can adjust the EQ for each speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
phil weissburg   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2001]
Strength:

quiet, adds no noise

Weakness:

owners manual poor at best, problems "see your dealer" yeah, right
no bass output in digital dolby

set up is so complicated without a good owners manual you cannot totally enjoy its use

Similar Products Used: yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com