Pioneer sx-828 Others

Pioneer sx-828 Others 

DESCRIPTION

Oldie but Goodie

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Oct 27, 2022]
specification166


Strength:

The comparable E series is priced at $399 each. Perhaps I will purchase a closeout on the old ND310s. My current system consists of: Onkyo Receiver JBL TLX Series Center JBL 6" bookshelf front/rear (wall mounted) Mitsubishi 54" Widescreen Infinity 10" 80W Sub Bellevue Engine Diagnostics And Repair

Weakness:

None . .

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 02, 2020]
PLG3


Strength:

I’ve had this head unit for 20 years now and thought it was good, but over the years have realized just how good it really is. The sound tends to be on the warm side so pairing speakers is important (horns, LS50’s all good). The sound has a richness that modern amps don’t seem to have. If you can pair with some full range speakers you will be pleasantly surprised. The frequency response dips down to a tube like rock bottom 5 hertz. Think of this amp as a big v8 motor with a very flat torque curve, lots of headroom across the entire frequency spectrum. Add a nice DAC and you will be rewarded with rich detailed sound. Don’t feel that wiring some expensive high end speakers to this amp would be a waste of time. This integrated amp should be in every serious audiophiles collection. Amp rolling with the sx-828 might raise some eyebrows and trigger epiphanies. Can’t recommend the experience more.

Weakness:

This was a TOTL amplifier from the early 70s. It’s like buying a vintage sports car. You will start by fixing what’s broken, and then get sucked into upgrading transistors and caps etc. But that’s most of the fun...no?

Price Paid:
140
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1972
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2016]
Bukwurrm
AudioPhile

Bought my receiver in Jan. 1974. It rocked then and still does. It is beginning a new life in our lake house. I can hardly wait to get it set up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 27, 2014]
douglas milliken
Casual Listener

pioneer sx 828-i bought this unit in flint michigan in 1972--approx $400- now live in edmonton alberta- listen to it constantly-recently refurbished-manual dial upgraded-lamp burnt out in fm tuning and light on tuning pointer replaced-sound is magnificant

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 14, 2012]
sunn
Audio Enthusiast

The poioneer sk828 is one of the best. functions well,. no problem with A speaker,I have electrostats and a set of the JB's connected this amp IT'S great....Looking to sell this one.. My playroom is getting full.. NOW, don't ask where I got it..it would blow YOUAWAY..
I have a superscop( need a cap or resister) , a sony 4 channel works fine, all foir sale.....most of the stereo amps I have were given to me, by people who did'nt know what they or did'nt apperciate what they had.
Or someone just through them away "NOT A THING WAS WRONG WITH MOST OF IT.
I love musis and sound and the SK 828 fills the bill.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 19, 2010]
jc
Audio Enthusiast

I have owned my Pioneer SX-828 for for 30+ years now and am also about to buy another...this has got to be one of the finest looking and finest built receivers to have ever been manufactured...it will drive just about any speaker system out there with true clarity...the tuning section is unbelievably quiet and the sound is very accurate thru the entire listening range...click stop tone controls are beautiful, filters are nice in that they eliminate hiss or rumble without affecting the sound to much...I love the dial light adjustment feature as I tend to listen to music in the evening write before I nod off to sleep so it is nice to dim the dial lighting...a very nice feature is the 20 db mute feature...I have an exceptionallly high hearing range and an extremely nice set of headphones...plugging them into most receivers reveals an audible hiss produced in any power amplifier...turn on the 20 db mute switch and the hiss is gone leaving nothing but dead silence until the music from ur favorite CD / FM station starts coming thru...the receiver is versatile also in that you may bypass the power amp and use a larger power amp if needed although I have only done that a few times for outdoor entertainment...if you can find one of these in nice shape I would definitely advise purchasing it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 23, 2004]
T P Static
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Built like a tank, larger then typical caps in the power supply. Shielded FM section.

Weakness:

Weird speaker output terminals. I can live with it.

Pioneer SX828 Reciever Because I favor the sound of discrete transistors I always wanted one. Moreover since I now live in the woods the FM sensitivity of 70's analog was most appealing. The Pioneer satifys in both aspects. The power band gives a natural clarity in the lower registers, better than the mosfet. Very easy to listen toit sweet sound. I have it in my den driving two homebrew MTM speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2003]
David Orea
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

The same words already wrote by Bruce. Quality build Internal components covered with RF shielding Incredible sound Beautiful asthetics

Weakness:

The type of connectors for the speakers. Does anybody know where could I find these rarities? If somebody does, please send me a message to davidorea1@hotmail.com Thanks in advance.

I have been using this excellent receiver (SX-828) during the last 23 years. Many experts have told me that this is a high quality machine. I really love it. Russ and Bruce gave a perfect description of this receiver.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 01, 2003]
hjkordt
Casual Listener

Strength:

long lasting receiver, I used it 29 years, one minor repair only so far.

Weakness:

starts loosing the knobs, simply because of age I suppose.

I have bought a Pioneer SX 828 in the year 1974 (yes, you read 1974!). Price these days was 1340 DEM (approx 670 EUR), Still well functioning and now a first major repair is necessary (tuner doesn't work, most probably a short circuit). For the repair I may need a circuit (wiring) diagram, any body out there who can help me with a copy or can tell me where to get it? I'd appreciate any kind of help. Thank you! hjkordt@hotmail.com

Similar Products Used:

never had any similar long lasting items in use.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 11, 2003]
Dale
Casual Listener

Strength:

Heavy, won't blow away in a wind storm

Weakness:

Replacine panel lights is a big job especially when you can't find a replacement bulb

This sk-828 was given to me because the left channel had a popping noise. I blew out all the dust and found a small heatsink rattling around inside having the ceramic screw shattered. I re-attached it using a plastic screw and the popping noise is gone. It appears to be a nice unit. My main gripe is the funky panel lights that look like a common 1/4 x 1 1/4" round fuse 8V @ .3A number IKOH. Who makes these bulbs that look like a fuse? I have been in the business for over forty years-never saw one. I am crusing the web site now looking for these silly bulbs.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com