Panamax Max 1000 Plus Surge Supressor Others

Available At:
Max 1000 Plus Surge Supressor

Uninterruptible Power Supply maintains power during short blackouts and brownouts,automatic voltage regulation circuitry for consistent power

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
joshtuttle   AudioPhile [Apr 02, 2002]
Strength:

Attractive unit, brightness adjustment for voltage LED''s, great price

Weakness:

NA

I knew that I needed something to protect my new Denon AVR-2802 receiver, as well as my flat-screen tv and other components, so I did a good deal of reading and research (as is my custom) before making this purchase. I trusted the Panamax name for their reliability and went with a refurbished model rather than spending far more for a brand new model. Even though the 5100 has come out to replace this 1000+, it is still an incredible conditioner/surge suppressor if you can find one! I noticed immediately upon hookup there was less background when listening very close to the speakers or at higher volumes (trust me, there was very little background noise before from my Boston VR series speakers, especially when playing CD''s through my Denon changer!). My cable picture changed very little, but I don''t fault the Panamax for that since the picture was already exceptionally clear and vivid, with very little static (we must have good cable around here). No complaints at all as far as how the unit looks in my rack, no difficulties in hookup, and very pleased with the final result, especially from the acoustic end and the peace of mind that it brings. Go with Panamax, unless you really feel that dishing out much more $$ for an upper end Monster Power unit is really going to be worthwhile. I didn''t and am quite pleased!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Duffman   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2002]
Strength:

Looks cool, fuzzy warm protected feeling, justift spending more money.

Weakness:

Compressed sound, dull highs, costs money to sound this way.

I had used this unit in my system(s) for the last 3 years and I initially thought it was great! I had started with lower end receivers and what I noticed was tht it cut out some of the hiss in the speakers and I concluded that it was a huge improvement and also I had piece of mind that I was protected from surges that may damage my system, how could I go wrong with this product? Well.. as my system evolved into seperates with components from Classe, anthem, Sonic Frontiers B&K etc I still had never even considered not running them through the panamax, until I spoke directly with the engeniers who built the components in my system and they all told me NOT to use a surge protector. They did not single out Panamax but spoke in length about the effects it has on the sound quality of the various components and it made sence. I asked about protection for surges and was told that for all 30,000 components this particular manufacturer had produced over the years only 2 had come back due to surge issues and there was no indication wether it had been hooked up to a surge protector or not, Granted I think we have pretty stable power in Canada. So I did the un thinkable I took the Panamax completely out of my system and what I heard was un believable! Everything sounded less compressed, I had increaced dynamic range and an open air to the sound . Sound stage was deeper as well. Now when a symbol is hit it carries on and sounds real. There is no hiss in my system with out it and after speaking to the beople who built my equipment, I am confident they are built to withstand any surges. Do your self a favour, take this piece out of your system and compare sound quality.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
audiophreak   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2002]
Strength:

Durable. Filters out the bad electrons very well.

Weakness:

Minor complaint: I wish it were deeper (size-wise). That way the outlets would be closer to the rear of my rack.

I noticed a distinct improvement the moment I put this in my power supply chain. Lower noise floor, improved dynamics, and no more annoying static pops on my Harman Kardon 7000 receiver. Get one of these if you live in a flaky power region like N. California!!! Also makes it very handy to use my receiver''s AC outlet to power up my whole system (including DLP projector) via the P1000+ remote voltage sensing turn-on.

Similar Products Used: Monster surge protector
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Martin   Audiophile [Feb 22, 2000]
Weakness:

switches on/off for every sources.

I was not the most enthousiast to pay $400 Can. for this unit. I was not sure that it will change a thing!

Surprise!

The soundstage and the bass were better in the first minute that I plugged this nice thing. The treble wins in sharpness
and details and I am discovering the real potential of my system.

Very good work Panamax, my system lives with you forever and my next one will have one too!

Quad 34
Quad 306
Rega Planet
Quad Fm 2 (tubes)
B&W DM-602=(next upgrade)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave F.   Audiophile [Aug 01, 2000]
Strength:

Design, convenience, features.

Weakness:

Plastic face-plate

It's small enough to not take up too much space on your rack. Very versatile in the way you can setup the unit. Voltage meter seems very accurate and the line-fault indicator can reveal electrical problems you didn't know you had.

Does it improve sound and image? I think it changes something but I haven't done enough comparison to pinpoint it. Off the cuff, I do believe the image is sharpened a bit, maybe less noise. Sound seems to have improved clarity. Again, I need to test this to be sure.

Nonetheless, a great value at $167 from www.onecall.com.

Similar Products Used: TrippLite Isotel-6, Belkin Surge Protection Device
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mike   Audio Enthusiast [May 03, 2000]
Strength:

Good looks, rack mountable, delayed turn on features, small footprint.

Weakness:

Own 4, three have failed (but were gladly replaced). Voltage meter on all 4 are very different? When they fail the buzz and make noice like a trapped animal (not too cool at 3:00am in the morning)!

Good price and excellent repair policy. Wish that when they did fail that they didn't have to tell the entire neighborhood!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Peter   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent protection and insurance

Weakness:

Not suitable for all types of equipment

This product is good for the peace of mind it offers. It also does a nice job of cleaning the power for certain pieces of equipment. It is not, however, appropriate for all gear in my opinion. I would recommend only using it on low-current gear like pre-amps, sources and such. If you hook a power amp up to it, you may be disappointed. While hooking your amp up to it will lower the noise floor, sharpen the audio image, and increase the sense of air and space around instruments, it will also likely limit the dynamics, bass, and richness of the sound significantly. It seems this piece of equipment has a current-limiting effect on some amplifiers. It is good for low-current gear though. So I would recommend using this for source components finding something else for the amplifier(s) which will not inhibit their ability to draw current.

Equipment:

Cambridge Audio D500 CD player
Audioquest Coral interconnect (0.5m)
Bryston B-60 integrated amplifier
Audioquest Slate speaker cable (bi-wire)
Castle Eden loudspeakers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Tyler   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 12, 2001]

Eric, I'm not sure what the hell you are talking about. My review as well as several others such as Anthony's, Peter's, and Vincent's seem like quality reviews. None of us use "flowery audio quality" language and our grammar is certainly acceptable. This is a quality product that has protected my gear during rolling blackouts, brownouts, and surges. As a plus, the high frequencies seem to have less "grit" or "hash". (I hope those adjectives are not too flowery for you.)

I'm sorry you are so insecure that you rely on the opinions of complete strangers to validate your purchase.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Denis Jolicoeur   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 20, 2000]
Strength:

Great quality, awesome waranty

Weakness:

only 2 unswitched outlets

I hadn't previously used any kind of power conditioners but I wanted to find a solution for grounding problems I was having with my cable. (I was getting a 60hz hum out of my subwoofers that wouldn't go away with all other traditional fixes.)

I read many rave reviews on the Monster power conditioners and I thought I'd try one out. The Monster products were very difficult to find in this city and when I did finally find one, it didn't have the features and specs this one offers for the same money. (besides, all high-end stores recommended the Panamax products)

Brian (at Brian Reimer Audio) was extremely helpful and took lots of time to answer all of my questions. Thinking that I had very high expectations (and he was right to think so), he really honestly undersold the product so I wouldn't be dissapointed. Well I wasn't. This product exceeded all of my expectations.

Upon connection, the hum out of my subwoofer was immediately eliminated, and the first thing I noticed is that the sound now sounded too bright. I was hearing more amazing detail (and much more DBs) than I've ever experienced with my surround system. The mids and highs were absolutely crisp and clear and at high volumes, I noticed at least a 3db increase. Female voices (Amanda Marshall and Sarah McLachlan) gave me chills down my spine. My system is now showing me precision and detail that I thought only upgrading to high end amps would do. The soundstage increased immensely and kept surprising me with detail I had never heard before.

The only reason I initially thought the sound was bright, is because of this amazing new detail in the mids and highs, AND the bass was now much cleaner and concise. It cleaned up the bottom end sound amazingly as well. So to compensate, I was able to turn up the subwoofers more and they now also sounds better than ever.

Thinking that I might have been dreaming all of this, after a few hours of listening, I disconnected the Panamax to compare... and sure enough I wasn't at all dreaming. I feel like I just doubled the performance of my system. Oh, and to boot, video picture (from cable TV) is also much better when running not only the cable, but all components thru the Panamax.

Best investment I've ever made!

equipment used:
Onkyo TX-DS939
Acoustic Research speakers all around (plus a small AR subwoofer)
Paradigm Reference Servo-15 subwoofer
Sony CD player
Sony 41" rear-projection TV
Sony VCR

Similar Products Used: Monster HTS1000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
alfredo mora   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 1999]
Strength:

ac power conditioning,plug in center with master switch and
status indicators

Weakness:

none

it provides surge protection with warranty for your equipment(if that the unit properly grounded)4 oulets are
switched ,2 always on ,two are delayed. the status indicators show voltage in a light bar (with dimmer) ON and
line fault(no ground or other miswiring) the last two are always on,this unit helps filter ac noise and provides a convinient way to hook up and power all components,it is
rackmountable with optional ears, It shows the voltage available and in some cases at night it is very low (100-105) , a regulator can help with larger systems. There is very little you can test with this unit,the only strange
detail is that its delay is rather long ,almost 30 sec!

Similar Products Used: furman pm8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com