Outlaw Audio ICBM Bass Management System Others

ICBM Bass Management System

The Outlaw Audio ICBM-1 is a sophisticated, audiophile-grade six-channel bass management system designed to be used with DVD-Audio or SACD players.

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
sejarzo   AudioPhile [Jul 06, 2005]
Strength:

Flexibility, adjustability, cost compared to other solutions

Weakness:

Not the last word in transparency, but for the price it's the only game in town

Picked this up to better integrate my Hsu VTF-3 Mk2 into a mixed 2ch/HT system. I run an Onkyo TX-SR701 for HT processing and the center and rear surrounds (Paradigm CC470V3 and SA-10R's), while using an MF CD-Pre24 into a pair of IRD MB100's for critical music listening, driving Paradigm Studio 40V3's up front. I simply run the front channel pre outs from the Onkyo into a line input on the CD-Pre, adjust the CD-Pre's volume control to the zero gain position, and then use the Onkyo to control the overall volume. The problem with most other crossovers is that they do not allow easy integration of the mono LFE out of an HT processor with a mono "low cut" derived from a regular stereo source. The ICBM makes that a no-brainer, with separate level controls for the LFE input and the overall sub output, adjustable slope, and front panel selection of the crossover frequency. I initially tried a Paradigm X-30, but I found it rather noisy and not very transparent (and it sent a nasty shut-down transient through my front channels if power to its wall wart was cut before the monoblocks were shut down and the caps had a chance to drain.) The ICBM is a definite improvement in both categories, but contrary to what some other folks think, I don't find it to be extraordinarily transparent. It definitely flattens the image of well-done orchestral recordings and takes away a smidgen of detail. However, I don't know of a better solution, especially for my setup.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm X-30
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
smokehouse   AudioPhile [Apr 26, 2005]
Strength:

Almost perfect bass managment

Weakness:

Looks, not the greatest looking thing in my rack. You also have to buy another 5.1 set of cables.

This thing is one of the greatest bass management devices to come out in quite some time. This little wonder is clean, straightforward and easy to use. It allows you to completely customize the bass sent to each speaker and even lets you run a stereo sub configuration. I currently have mine in between my Sunfire processor and Rotel amp. This thing is advertised as a device to help the lackluster bass management found on many SACD and DVDA players, but it also can help with any pre/pro as well. Just set your speakers to large and let the ICBM do its job. Few processors save the very best let you control the bass sent to each speaker individually, most cut all off at the same frequency. The ICBM goes one step further with each set of speaker being fully adjustable. I purchased mine for a steal, but even at the $250 asking price it’s worth every penny.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luis31   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2004]
Strength:

-Variable crossover adjustments for each individual speaker/channel. -Price $$$ -Transparency, does not "color" the sound. -Well written manual, ease of use, and Outlaw's staff support.

Weakness:

None, nada, zip...

Folks! You want bass done right, this is the way to go. Even the most sophisticated preamp processors and receivers don't have bass management implemented the correct way. I own 2 ICBM-1's for my systems and I can safely say these were (along with outboard amplification...) the most significant upgrades I've done. My Denon AVR-5803 (yes, the flagship Denon receiver...) had its limitations. Sure, it gives variable crossover adjustments, BUT they are SYSTEM-WIDE, not for each independent channel. My Yamaha RXV-2200 has a fixed crossover cut-off of 90Hz when speakers are set to "small" (what was Yamaha thinking, then?). I know they fixed that in their 2004 receivers, BUT again we are talking system-wide variable (40Hz, 60Hz, 80Hz, 100Hz, 120Hz)crossover adjustments, not for each individual channel/speaker. This is where the Outlaw ICBM-1 comes in putting "bass management done right..." at the palm of your hands. Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used: None, there's nothing like the ICBM-1 (at least that I know of...)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mililanihawaii   Audio Enthusiast [May 01, 2004]
Strength:

made in USA. gold jacks .Not only with 5.1-channelsystems,but also with 6.1-channel systems like Lucasfilm THX Surround EX and DTS ES_matrix and ES-discrete.

Weakness:

for the DVD-audio or SACD player that does have bass management.your is less less versatile than the ICBM's circuitry,and thus won't let you fine-tune your system as the ICBM will.

welcome to one of the best component that is out there for bass management. Like the others who bought the Pioneer DV-563A, I myself needed some bass management. Boy was I shock!!!!!!!! when I got to listen to the dvd -audio. The bass now comes much more listenable at loud levels. To have a Hsu Research Vtf-3 mark 2 sound much much sweeter only tells you how good this damm thing is.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kgveteran   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2004]
Strength:

Well made.Great connectors Sounds smooth. Looks cool.Love the green lettering Sounds drop dead fantastic

Weakness:

Get out of here!

I recently purchased a Pioneer DV563A.For the lack of slamming a good piece of equipment it needed help in the analog domain.Enter the ICBM,after making a bunch of interconnects with some kimber PBJ cables I had on hand the unit took ten minutes to setup.Since my system uses mini monitors all around and has been calibrated with a 80hz xover point it made sense to use 80hz all around.I popped in Pink Floyds Dark side of the moon and I was off.All I can say is buy this thing and buy it now.It is quiet and makes every sound complete by adding the bass to all your channels.I then put in Yes Fragile.While sounding a little sterile on a few tracks the warm bass was back and in spades.Total cost for this combo including shipping and tax was 436.00.What this will add to your listening pleasure can not be measured in dollars.Now go get your outlaw and begin to enjoy ALL the music.

Similar Products Used: None to compare!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dale Haydel   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2003]
Strength:

Ease of set-up! Quality of unit. Price, new or used.

Weakness:

Needs an on/off switch. Could be located on the back panel.

This is a Magnepan Edition and was a trade in at a local audio dealer. At this point I have only had this in my system for a week but what a difference. Actually I alway been satisfied with the bass from my Magnepan 1.6QR speakers but now they really strut there stuff. I didn't really know how much bass I was misssing until I installed this into the system. I also just aquired a Magnepan MG-CC2 center channel. I was concerned about the amount of bass it was getting so I bought the ICBM1 to calm things down. The bass seems very tight and controlled. I highly reccommend this as an addition to anyone with Maggies. I have been trying to decide on a sub for the system but now I can spend my money on other upgrades. I really don't see the need for a sub now. System: Chiro 800 processor Bryton 3B(front) & 2B(center, rears) amps Magnepan 1.6 QR (front) Magnepan MG-CC2 (center) Magnepan SMGa (rear surround) California Audio Labs Delta tranport and Sigma DAC Michell Engineering Gyrodec turntable Toshiba SD 9000 DVD player Cardas & Audioquest cables

Similar Products Used: None, I don't think there is anything like it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Craig   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 07, 2003]
Strength:

Ease of setup, flexibility, unbelieveable sound improvement that MUST be heard.

Weakness:

Unit should have an on/off switch instead of being on all the time.

I just received my ICBM. Wow. No, Make that HOLY SH**!! I just entered the world of SACD. I was always happy with my moderate level equipment - Sony DB-930 Rcvr, Pinnacle Gold Towers/Center, Axiom QS-8 surrounds, Klipsch KSW-12. Being a musician, I couldn't wait to get an SACD player. Bought the new Pioneer 563A. Well, you can guess, after hooking it up, the relatively lackluster 5.1 of the Sony, I was ready to take it back. Thin, hollow, miserable sound. I couldnt believe it. From a system that really rocked my living room with a Dolby mixed DVD-Audio disc, I now had the sound quality of my fathers 72 Chevy. After reading the "miracles" that the ICBMs were creating, I thought I had nothing to lose to try one - I could even get my money back. Well, you can have it back when you pry it from my cold, dead fingers.... I am at a loss for words. I have never, ever heard such pure, thick, crystal clear sound from my system. DVD-Audio and SACD's have come to life with such dynamic realism it transcends explanation. The setup was so easy and straight foward, and the recommended initial settings were perfect. It took me all of 5 minutes to dial it in to my taste. I spent 4 hours re-experiencing sounds I never heard. The SACD Toto IV should be included as a demo disc with this unit. I heard a sound spectrum from thundering, solid lows to crystal clear highs in a wide dynamic range I truly thought impossible from my system. Instead of spending countless thounds to upgrade my system (which I couldnt do for years to come) for $249, I have found Nirvanha (Not the band, thankfully...)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dean Martin   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 03, 2003]
Strength:

No noise,ease of operation,flexibility

Weakness:

None I can find.

I can only echo the statements of the other reviews after buying the Pioneer DV-45 combo player I couldn't find the bass.I purchased the ICBM to fix the problem and after putting it in the system I used it for all my bass control.It introduces no noise into the system and I am able to do exactly what I want with the individual channel x-overs.My system: Yamaha RXV-800 receiver used as preamp,B&K amps AV-5000 and ST-140.Pioneer DV-45 combo player,Yamaha CDC-905 cd player,Onkyo DXRD-511 cd recorder,Ohm Walsh 2 frt. LR speakers,PSB Image 9C center channel speaker,Celestion DL-10 front effects speaker,Celestion DL-4 surround speakers.

Similar Products Used: None I know that could do the job the ICBM does.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   AudioPhile [Sep 02, 2003]
Strength:

There is bass!

Weakness:

No power switch, cheap power transformer

I had been searching for an active crossover for a long time when I came across this product. I was disappointed with the bass output level from my DVP-999ES SACD player. At first I thought the player was defective - tried another one and still no bass. It appears that the Sony chip used by SACD players all cross over at 120hz - way too high. After hooking up this unit, all bass level problems went away. My only issue sonically is that I believe the unit adds a little low-level hum to the signal. I also don't like the cheap power transformer used. Anyone know of a higher quality replacement for this? I would have to believe that a better transformer would add sonic benefits. A power switch would be nice also.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
stereoguru   AudioPhile [Jul 28, 2003]
Strength:

Individual settings for Front, Center, Rear and Center Rear channels; selectable rollover 40, 60, 80, 100 & 120 Hz. External power supply - less EMI noise internally; dead quiet. Details like crazy

Weakness:

No channel level controls (can do this within my receiver), no channel delays for speaker distance.

(Copy of mailnote sent to Outlaw Audio) - I purchased an ICBM on May 20th of this year. I received in mint condition 3 business days later, and connected it to the secondary system in the smaller listening room (a bedroom). I have listened extensively through it since then and must tell you I am a very satisfied customer. For your reference the system consists of 1) Marantz SR7300 ose receiver 2) a quintet of PSB Image 2B speakers 3) Monitor Audio FB110 subwoofer 4) Sennheiser HD600 headphones 5) Panamax 5100 line conditioner/surge protector and the gem (in my opinion) of the system, the Pioneer DV47-A universal player. This feeds the ICBM through Van den Hul 102 MK III audio cables and then the signal from the ICBM feeds into the Marantz receiver's 7.1 analog direct input, also through Van del Hul 102 MK III cables. The primary system is quite upscale (built over a period of 8 years), and serves as a reference point for this secondary system. Your ICBM is a most transparent, phase accurate unit that sonically appears only to route the lower bass (from 80Hz down) to the subwoofer, and NOTHING ELSE. It DOES NOT slow the transients, cloud the detail, fog or otherwise cast a haze over the image. In addition I must add that the SR7300 ose is a most revealing unit sonically and that only enhances the signal purity that you enable me to receive from the DV47-A player. I applaud you heartily for a product and job VERY well done !!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com