LINN Classik Others

Classik

Amp, Preamp, and CD Player in one package

User Reviews (38)

Showing 1-10 of 38  
JimmyBlues   AudioPhile [Mar 06, 2008]
Strength:

Excellent sound; flexibility -- the Linn Classik really is the Swiss Army Knife of
hi-end audio; diminutive size, build quality, competitive price.

Weakness:

Runs a bit warm but nothing like my tube amps or the older solid state pure Class A amps that I've owned including a Classe Audio DR-3 VHC, DR-2 & Bedini 25/25.

.

The Linn Classik is the most intelligently designed piece of audio gear I have seen in more than 25 years dabbling in hi-end audio.

It may seem expensive given its diminutive size, however, the Classik does include both an integrated amplifier plus a competent CD engine and tuner.

The end result is musical system that easily surpasses mid fi systems from well respected companies such as NAD, Rotel, Creek and Arcam - the quality of the components used within the Classik are definitely of a higher caliber than those in the aforementioned gear.

The preamplifier section of the Classik also functions quite well on its own, when paired with separate power amplifiers. I have been using mine with a pair of Quicksilver Mini Mite monoblocks for the past year (as well as a pair of Antique Sound Lab Wave AV 25's -- both excellent low power tube amplifiers) and found it to be a superb combination -- especially when paired with efficient speakers like the Linn Kan V's which I use.

There were some problems with some of the earlier Classik units from around
2000 when they were first manufactured, however Linn seems to have worked them out.

The tuner in the Classik pulls in stations as well as most tuners I have owned, and sounds quite good. Please keep in mind that my opinon of the tuner section in the Classik is based on having own some very well thought of audio tuners including
a Marantz 10B, SAE Mark VIB, Naim NAT-01, Sequerra FM Studio, and a Meridian 504 (in addition to several other slightly lesser yet excellent models).

The CD Engine in the Classik is also competitive with good detail, sound staging and sense of air which gives a good quailty CD the presentation that it deserves.

I do have to say though that in my own opinon there is a very defintive point of diminishgin returns with Digital playback. In particular I reference my own experience in having owned a brand new Naim CDI back in the early 1990's which was quite good at the time (given its considerable price of $4000 in 1992), yet in many respects not a heck of a lot better than the CD engine in the Classik.

For a point of reference, my ancient Systemdek IIX with Profile tonearm and Sumiko Blue Point Special moving coil cartridge will thoroughly trounce the CD section of the Classik (and would have with the CDI if I still owned it).

The amplifier in the Classik gets used during the summer months since I live in the North Eastern part of the United States, and from late May until October, it is simply too hot onmost days to use the tube monoblocks which I own (however during the Winter months, the heat they throw off is more than welcome -- like a little fireplace amongst the rest of my hi-fi gear).

Rounding out my system is an NAD PP-2 phono preamplifier used to connect the Systemdek to the auxillary stage on the Classik. And two vintage tape decks -- Nakamichi 700 Tri Tracer (the deck that put Nakamichi on the map as a serious contender as best tape deck manufacturer in the world) and a diminutive Sony Pro Walkman WMD-6C; a virtual wonder given its small size yet excellent musicality.

This main system also allows me to dabble with other pieces of vintage gear now and then, including my old Electrocompaniet Preampliwire IIA, Marantz 125 tuner, and Dynkit Stereo 70 vintage tube amplifier from the early 1960's.

Overall the Classik continues to be a superbly engineered and excellent sounding piece of hi-end gear; so much so that I would have to spend quite a bit more to better its sound.

I love the Classik and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys both miinalism and great music. Also ignore anyone who tells you that the later models of the Classik don't sound as good as the earlier ones do, since they are for all intents the same topology with the exception of the sneaky kudos tuner module (or a similiar one) and the addition of the Linn KNEKT multiroom facility for more than one Classik installation in your home.

I really enjoyed writing this review and I hope that it's been helpful to you.

Customer Service

Had the mother board replaced after it a resistor fried itself -- the dealer refered to this as anomaly which they could not explain. I was charged roughly $200 for labor. This was a year ago, and the Classik has continued to perform flawlessly ever since.

Similar Products Used: Rotel RTC 940AX, Naim Audio Nait, Nait2, Nait3, Meridian 551; Quad 34/306/FM4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
victrola927   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2007]
Strength:

Rich harmonic texture
Three dimensionality
All in one unit saves shelf space for more amplifiers - biamp or triamp if you can
Has lasted me for years - problem free
Very musical and powerful - even with just the internal amplifier
I always keep coming back to Linn components.

Weakness:

New Classiks don't seem to sound as good
Deltron connectors instead of banannas - it is a big pain in the butt changing speaker wires and comparing to other amps because you always have to change the deltron plugs.

I have one of the original Linn Classik's, and I wrote a review on this website many years ago which has unfortunately has disappeared over the years. I have really lloved my Linn Classik longer than any other component I have ever owned (except my LP12). I was shocked the other day when walking through a Linn shop to hear the newer Linn Classik's. They had none of the richness and three dimensionality that my earlier version has. The new versions seemed cold and sterile, while my Classik sounds overly rich and musical sounding. My Classik excells as a preamp, and I have used it in many, many systems ranging from tube push pull amps, to 300b single ended amps with great success. I have also used it with great results with LK100's and other solid state components.. If you can find an earlier version of the Classik, buy it. They now seem to be going for around $700 on ebay, which is only $300 less than I paid for mine new years ago. Something must be right about the units if they hold their value so well.

Customer Service

I have never had a problem with any of my Linn components in the 25 years I have owned Linn components.

Similar Products Used: NAD L53
Linn Kairn
Linn LK100's
Linn Karik
Linn Numerik
Linn Mimmik
Many, Many other name brands which I keep selling and coming back to Linn!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nico   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2007]
Strength:



This is my most satisfying purchase, this piece of audio does it all, very neat box with many options and a very neutral, relaxed sound.
There is no sense of any harsness and however the power is modest, until you listen to earthshaking levels it won't dissapiont you.
I paired the Classik with Linn Katan speakers.
My second purchase will be another Classik, THANK YOU LINN.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gfef   AudioPhile [May 29, 2003]
Strength:

Too many to list. At £1000 you will be hard pushed to find any system that compares let alone one with so many facilities or takes up so little space.

Weakness:

The remote is a little cluttered and the cd drawer is flimsy, albeit I have an outgoing Meridain 206 to compare.

I have been buying and selling Hifi equipment at an alarming rate in the last 12 months, upgrading each time. I was not looking for a Clasik but purchased it because I knew that I could sell it on at a profit since it had only been used a handfull of times. I won't be doing that because it is staggeringly good to my ears. I will only say that as soon as I played my first CD I was compelled to get all my cd's out. Good recordings and bad, they all improved by some margin.

Similar Products Used: None but I have compared with amps:audiolab 8000A/Marantz cd600ose ki,Arcam 8R,NAD C340,Quad 405-2and Quad33. CD Players - Meridian 206 Delta Sigma, Marantz cd6000ose, nad c540. Tuner: Denon tu260l(2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TG UK   Audio Enthusiast [May 09, 2003]
Strength:

Fantasitc sound and picture

Weakness:

It gets too damn hot and too noisy

I was, please the WAS, loooking for a one box solution to my home cinema/audio situation. It was by chance that i found the Linn Classik. Once set up, very easy, I sat back to watch my first movie on DVD with it, how did it go absloutely superb. But then after 15 mins the problem started, the internal fan kicked in and having an open rack on which it was placed, it became an intrusion into the sound, dialogue required me to increase the volume. After that I tried the tuner and CD side of things, again truly impressed, but the fan still got in the way. To make matters worse the heat generated was excessive to say the least. Is it possible to cook CD or DVD discs? Needless to say it was returned to the dealer. A great idea poorly executed.

Similar Products Used: Now using Denon 3803 plus DVD 2800 soon to be replaced by 2900
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
michel lee   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 2003]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

if only for CD and radio use ... none .

I'm a real real LINN fans .... all of my system for audio are LINN . They are Wakonda , LK140 , LK85 , Keilidh , K400 .... and I just want a CD player .....and radio I thinking about LINN classik . It is a radio + CD player set . I buy it from used outlet in HK . And the sound is very good and good match with all of my Linn set up . I can say . Linn is my sound ~

Similar Products Used: Denon DCD-1015G , Sony SCD-1 ...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
codyt   Casual Listener [Mar 10, 2003]
Strength:

Compact size, remote and cool styling. It can only get better as it continues to break in.

Weakness:

None

After living happily for 8 years with a Arcam Delta 290 integrated amp, Luxman T-117 tuner, and Cal CL-15 cd player, I felt it was time to sell and find something new. With $1,200 in my pocket, I needed to replace everything in a nice, neat all-in-one package. How convenient that Accent on Music had one CLassik T left in stock. The Classik is now driving a pair of Spendor 3/1P's and making my old system a distant memory. Although the cd player is not the latest and greatest, it does the job, while the tuner pulls in stations the old Luxman could never find. Throw in the remote, and I feel I'm set for the next eight years.

Similar Products Used: Naim Nate, Creek 4040, Arcam Alpha and Delta.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2002]
Strength:

Very good cd player and tuner, looks great.

Weakness:

Sometimes a little underpowered, so use an extra amp.

I bought the Linn Classik after thorough research. At first i wasn't looking for a life style system but for something more industrial. But after listening to all kinds of amps and cd-players I was very surprised the Classik offered as much listening quality, sometimes even better, than many (often more expensive) sets. The cd player sounds very natural and the amp is excellent, but lacks a bit of extra power sometimes. So after trying out all kinds of combinations I also bought a Linn LK 85 end amp to boost up things a little. The LK 85 drives the tweeters and the Classik drives the woofers of my loudspeakers. I use Totem Staff speakers which sound extremely good in this configuration. I think that everybody who wants an excellent hifi set for a very good price should consider a configuration like i descibed. And as a bonus it also looks great!

Similar Products Used: Many different product.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
R   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 08, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent sound quality! Excellent value for money! Great CD player and very good tuner. Reasonable power output in a small package. Compact size, elegant design, solid construction.

Weakness:

Somewhat limited amplifier. Euro-bonehead speaker terminal design. Some ergonomic peculiarities and a challenging remote control.

I bought my Linn Classik in September of last year, as a replacement for my aging system. I did quite a lot of research before buying, and listened to more combinations of equipment than I can remember. Nothing I auditioned offered me better sound, or value, for the money - a MAJOR benefit when going to the absolute outer limit of one's budget. I paired the Classik with a pair of Aerial Acoustics Model 5 monitor speakers, which I reviewed previously. I'm delighted with the combination. The Classik almost has it all - smooth, detailed, extremely natural sound from both the CD player and the tuner; elegant design; superb workmanship. I listen almost exclusively to baroque and classical music, while my wife and children prefer soft rock and easy listening; it all sounds wonderful. The tuner is quite good - relatively weak classical stations come in clearly, even out in the wilds of northern New Jersey. There little or no noise, even with weak signals, and channel separation and tonal quality are good. I'm referring to FM, of course; the AM section is an afterthought good for weather reports and not much else. Good as the tuner is, the CD player is much better. CD playback is the area where the Classik really shines, offering sound quality almost as good as a number of models costing significantly more - the Naim CD5 and Linn's own Genki among them. Pwer output is surprisingly good, and the sound retains its easy, natural, detailed quality at high volumes, even with my Aerial speakers (great speakers, but not the most amplifier-friendly). The Classik makes a symphony sound like a symphony, chamber music like chamber music, voices like real live voices. Stereo imaging is good - wide (enogh for my listening room, anyway)and deep, with realistic height and clear positioning of instruments and voices. It only shows its limitations with very deep bass or extremely loud orchestral passages. Drivng the Aerial speakers, its actually happier at slightly higher volumes - since the speakers aren't that sensitive, they lose some dyanamic range at lower volumes and cansound slightly closed in. Is it perfect? No. Good as the amplifier is, it's only rated at 75 watts/channel into 4 ohms and could use more steam. The non-standard speaker tereminals are a pain, and I didn't appreciate having to customize my speaker cables with those special Linn connectors. The ergonomics can take some getting used to - the elegant front panel uses a set of small, cryptically marked buttons to control everything. The CD tray works smoothly but looks and sounds slightly flimsy. Finally, the remote control, with its three or four hundred tiny, identical buttons, is a thing only an engineer could love. Having poor eyesight and no coordination to speak of, I'm not very fond of it. That's it for the gripes, though. If you love music, appreciate fine design and workmanship, and don't want your system to take over your living room (or your finances), this is the one to buy.

Similar Products Used: Nothing else is exactly equivalent. I auditioned Naim series 5 (entry level) components; a Creek 4330 amp with a Regal Planet CD player; a combination receiveer/CD player built by Classe (which seems
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
4litton   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 01, 2002]
Strength:

Versatility, design, multi-room.

Weakness:

Remote, CD playback (on my sample)

I bought the Linn after extensive auditioning over a number of weeks. Tried all the usual front runners including Bose Lifestyle and B&O. I needed a really good accurate system for a small studio but the Linn was to be the 'all things to all people' unit for the main room. I had quickly realised during audition that the system was at best a compromise in term sof stereo sound quality on CD but the DVD capabilities and overall flexibility eventually won me over. Oh, and as everyone else has noticed - it looks great! Now 2 weeks in I still love the DVD output (through Kef speakers) but am puzzled by the CD playback. There seems to be a problem on my sample when track numberschange but the music is continuous i.e. when movements of a classical symphony join together (attacca). Have contacted Linn and the dealer but the effect doesn't seem to have been noticed by others. If a solution can't be found I shall be returning the unit. Has anyone else experienced problems like this?

Similar Products Used: Bose, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 38  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com