Densen DeMagic Others

DeMagic

Demagnetising CD

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Jim5047   AudioPhile [Jun 06, 2010]

I just tried this product and it worked for me. I think a lot of people expect a night and day experience which you won't get. As all the other reviewers said, tighter bass, neutral midrange and cleaner highs.

I bought mine from a local charity shop and wondered myself whether it was foo but honestly glab i have it now.

Probably this product will work better if your cd player is a few years old or more as it won't make any difference to new ones IMO. For the modest outlay i paid it is worth every penny.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   AudioPhile [Jun 06, 2010]

I just tried this product and it worked for me. I think a lot of people expect a night and day experience which you won't get. As all the other reviewers said, tighter bass, neutral midrange and cleaner highs.

I bought mine from a local charity shop and wondered myself whether it was foo but honestly glab i have it now.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
paul B   Casual Listener [Sep 23, 2004]
Strength:

sounds good in theory

Weakness:

not a startling performer (maybe I need better hearing!) Couldn't really hear much difference.

Well...it's fairly subtle, if it does anything it's not much frankly. Maybe handy for much older systems that maybe will benefit. But if your system's nearly new ...what's the point. "IMHO" I think it should be sold with a clear message on the already excessive advertising that goes with the disc, that it may only benefit in certain circumstances...ie older hardware.

Similar Products Used: cd cleaner tape head demagnitizer
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
lisa   Casual Listener [Sep 05, 2004]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

$39 for 3 minutes of noise is too much to pay for a non-performer.

A disk that promises lots but delivers nothing. Looks impressive, lots of gold graphics. Lots of Densens advertising is also included. Don't be fooled. Hope their amps and cd players are of more ethical quality. This cd is a dud.

Similar Products Used: cd lens cleaning disk
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
andrewpaul   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 05, 2004]
Strength:

it's danish (reputation for quality generally)

Weakness:

over hyped only contains the "demagnitising tone" and no other features such as a test tones for before and after comparisons. Sadly its major weakness is - it absolutely does NOT work!!!

DENSEN DEMAGIC disk I have tried this product on the basis of what has been said in this forum by others and also by checking with the hi-fi dealer from which I purchased it from. I also read the sales blurb in Densen literature. I tried this disk in 3 different systems (2 home audio systems and a car cd player) all audio systems contain hardware that is in excess of 10 years old. An Ideal proving ground for this kind of disk (as confirmed by the hi-fi dealer). I took the procaution of playing a variety of music before and after running this "miracle" disk. Pop-rock, cuban music and classical...I listened to these repeatedly both before and after running the Demagic disk. I would LIKE to report that this disk has some audible benefit.....but I did try hard to convince myself that it could do the things claimed by others in this forum. Sadly it did absolutely NOTHING. I implore anyone who is tempted to try it, to first borrow this disk from a friend and try before you buy (before you WASTE your money). Contrary to what others have said in this forum, it produces no audible benefits. Sadly I seriously think that it does very little to enhance the Danish Densen Audio company's reputation. They may consider to either drop their name from this product or at the very least stipulate some sobering facts with their frankly over hyped claims attached to this disk. To conclude: do not consider this product in any way a serious audio device. If your cd player or dvd player seems to need a little pep you would be wiser to try a laser cleaner. My next task is to ask for my money back...although it's only $39, and one could waste far more money than that in many other ways it's the principal that matters. No serious hifi manufacturer sould be selling this kind of audio "quackery"

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
MrAnderson   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 19, 2004]
Strength:

Overall Worked great in my system, Cleans circuits well. Might make some copies to sell to my mates for a few quid each!!! lol

Weakness:

They could have filled the disc with other useful tracks...test tones, stereo imaging, warm-up.burn-in,.etc. thats why only a 4 out of 5 for value!!!!

i am more into comp. car audio ,but i thought my ageing home system (amp from new in '93) could do with a internal treat for all the years of trouble-free service. So i decided on this Densen Demagic CD I ran the 3 minute track, whilst i was out of the room. Once i returned i played a wide variety of music (dance,rap,rock,classical) that i know very well. As well as 30 minutes of Radio 1. In my system (whether it is just the circuit layout of it?) this CD works very well, sound is cleaner especially at the higher end of the spectrum with improved soundstage, more natural....bargain! Worked just as well in my Car's system (High-end Competition set-up) Densen recommend using once a week but i will leave it a month or two ,unless i hear a change in sound!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
nickitson   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 13, 2003]
Strength:

Big bang for bucks.

Weakness:

None really. Could it be sold more cheaply?

I can simply say that it works. For a modest cost and three irritating minutes it takes to run the track expect to hear better high end detail, clearer imaging on the soundstage and tighter bass. OK, not staggering but depending on your kit and your ears, definitely a noticeable and worthwhile improvement. I tested by running the Densen track whilst out of the listening room and by auditioning some of my favourite CDs before and after (What a difference a day makes on Natalie Coles 'Stardust' for one). No contest - it works.

Similar Products Used: Electronic tape head de-magnetiser.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Coco Marantz   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2003]
Strength:

This product does what it claims. But I think it's only fair to assume that the end results will vary from system to system.

Weakness:

None I can make up : )

Hello Everyone : ) I read an article on this product and thought that AUD$20.00 plus postage is really nothing to cry over if the product proved to be a dud. And well ... I'm pleased to say that it DOES work. As I am a DJ and not a tech-boffin or scientist, my ears are my tools of measure. To keep this short, whatever this does, it does it with acceptable improvements as I can hear that Highs are Crisper, and the overall dynamics is only slightly improved. It goes without saying that you cannot expect this CD to turn the sound of your boom-box into an esoteric piece of equipment as that's just plain silly. I'd suggest making a copy of a track you will use for comparison BEFORE you use the DeMagic CD and then make another copy of the same track AFTER using the CD to confirm if there really is any improvement or whether you think it's a waste of money. Personally, I think any improvement no matter how small, is better than no improvement at all. So, maybe if you'd like to try this product out but are a little hesitant, I'd humbly suggest you strike a deal with your Salesperson which will allow you to return it for at least an In-Store Credit Voucher if they do not offer refunds. As we say in Oz "If Ya Don't Ask, Ya Don't Get". Coming to the signal (some call it 'noise') that this CD produces, the response to my enquiry confirmed that you can have the Volume set at a Low Level when using it. IMHO, there's alot more horrible sounds you can come across in this world than a signal running for a 3 minute duration, haha. Oh,and if I may politely point out as a result of my searching, the University Of Seoul DOES Exist : )

Similar Products Used: Nakamichi Cassette Deck Demagnetizer.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  Audio Enthusiast [Oct 06, 2003]
Strength:

The best way to spend £11 on your system. Has to be midrange to high-end if you really want to hear a difference. Use also Auric Ilumanator on you favorite CDs: you may then reach the musical nirvana (I do sometimes...)

Weakness:

You have to stand this horrible noise for 3 minutes ! But hey, no pain, no gain...

Well, some people like it and some people think it's a scam. For myself, I think it is a very effective cleaning sound solution. Especially if you consider that you can use it over and over. What can I say ? It just works! Suddenly, you hear details you never heard before. The sound is cleaner, smoother, timbres more acurate, bass more tight. If you are skeptical, just try it. I think you could easily find someone who will let you borrow the disc (and even copy it...)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Peter the Alligator   AudioPhile [Apr 01, 2003]
Strength:

Sound is clear again and definition returns!

Weakness:

Nothing

I agree with the previous review. If I feel there is something wrong in my system and I am not satisfied anymore, I always use the demagic: the definition returns and everything is as sharp as a razor again. The sound is clearer and the bass is also tight again.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com