Cambridge Soundworks Model 88 Table Radio Others

Model 88 Table Radio

Table Radio

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
It's all about the sound   AudioPhile [Aug 05, 2013]

The model 88 proved itself to be much better than expected , for several reasons .it is built like a brick house , as my dad would have said . Second , not expecting much after some time with similar products , I found the sound to be clean tight and full of bass for a tiny tabletop ! So much so that the sound easily fills the living area . ( two story w/vaulted ceilings and open walls . Our other Model 88 is in the master bdrm. And provides the same effect . Musical and effortless sound filling the room ! If we need a larger sound with a digital medium the home stereo or theater will do ,however , whenever just am or fm are desired , the Cambridge Soundworks Model 88 is easily relocated to any room or out to one of the patios always available to reproduce a nearly full freq. , quite musical sound . Always pleasant to the ears...highly recommended over competitive products !!! P.S. not positive on model yr.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
goraman   AudioPhile [Jul 31, 2009]

First off the picture on this review is the CSW 730 and not the modle 88 or modle 88CD.
I am reviewing the Modle 88CD. First I should mention I grew up on the 1968 KLH modle 6 and 5 speakers and have owned sevral modle 21's,so I know what to expect fron the late Henry Kloss .He voices from the midrange out .This radio screams Kloss voiceing and thats why I have 3 of them. The transport in the CDP is the weakest link but proper isolation tweeks such as placeing the unit on heavy cork will help in getting a better read to the DAC.I can't comment on the alarm features because I don't use them.
I keep one in the babeys nursery and the others in the kitchen and bedroom.
It isent a tube rig but it is very pleasent sounding so its a good starter for the new born to listen on as one
day he will get all dad's Manley Labs,Audion,Music Hall and around 6000 records and lots of CD's.
No other brand beats the sound this modle can offer but some are more sensitive in the tuner section than others,not a desighn flaw just poor alighnment from the factory and easily resolved by a good tech.
Even G.E. super radios some recive better than others and out out of the box and some need the pots turned a bit.Over all this ones a winner and well worth your time and money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GB17g   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 24, 2005]
Strength:

Deep base far beyond typical table radio. With a broad sound. Remote control nice,but don't need it to operate unit. Headphone output.

Weakness:

Would like to have more than one aux input, and having an audio line output would be a plus. Lost right channel a few months into having it. Had to send it back to company for repair. It will be 3 to 4 weeks for return. For that long of a wait, it would be nice to have a loaner or at least for them to extend the original warranty for that period of repair.
05-06-05 Just a follow up to my first review, it turned out to be about two weeks for the return of my repaired unit. Not the 3 to 4 weeks I was told. So thumbs up for a fast turnaround.

Great sound for size and money compares very well to bose system, better soundings than the new Boston Acoustics system, but not as good looking. Radio section only fair to good in my area. Would like cd player to begin at point in which you stopped like in a car system. Overall a great secondary system for the audio enthusiast and all most other folks would need.

Similar Products Used: Sony boombox, Bose, Boston Acoustic system
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Robbie520   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 17, 2002]
Strength:

The positive reviews written by people who didn't get defective speakers on their radio and must live right next to radio station transmitters. Then perhaps the unit will work out for you.

Weakness:

bad quality control -- role the dice and pray all day and you might get a working unit. Awful, awful, no worthless, AM reception Poor FM reception unless you buy an external antenna.

After much research and positive reviews I eagerly awaited the arrival of the 88CD. I have never been more disappointed with an audio product. First the sound: I expected decent sound, but nothing over the top - I mean let's be reasonable, it's only a $300 boombox. When I put in a cd (Jacintha's Here's to Ben), I couldn't believe what I heard...on certain upper mid-range notes the speakers sort of warbled. I turned the bass down low -- but still the same impact. I couldn't believe it. Second The Radio: I live in Metro Atlanta and tuned into the MAJOR AM station here -- the static/radio noise was horrible. Tried to move the radio around as CSW recommends. A little improvement but only if the unit faced the wall. I really wanted this thing to work so I tried it in several rooms and positions. Just couldn't get rid of the static and radio noise. That means I couldn't listen to the AM station if I kept the radio. My $10 Sony radio gets better AM reception. No kidding. Then I tried some FM stations, with CSW's little FM antenna attached. This was better, but it had trouble pulling in several major stations clearly - that's right, $300 and I get static on major FM stations. I tried all sort of postions. I even hooked up the unit to my Monster Power Supply to see if that helped. Nope! It is obvious that the unit will need an external FM antenna to work properly on FM. And yes, my little $10 Sony again pulls in all the FM stations just fine. So how come this radio costs $300? Conclusion: This thing is going right back to CSW. I'm assuming that the speakers have a defect, so bad is the sound on some CDs at certain notes. But given the awful reception on AM (there is no way to attach an external antenna for AM), and the poor quality of FM without buying an external antenna -- remember that my $10 Sony has better reception-- I see no reason to try to get a replacement unit. If you are lucky to get a defect-free unit, make sure you also purchase an external FM antenna and be ready to not listen to anything on AM. Then you too can write a positive review as have the others here.

Similar Products Used: My $10 Sony has MUCH, MUCH better AM and FM reception. Go figure.....
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Gary   AudioPhile [Feb 16, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent and sensitive FM tuner. Fair to good AM tuner. Wide function effectively widens the soundstage on program dependent sources if one is seated directly in front of the radio. Warm, rich sound that emphasizes the midbass. Suprising overall bass response from such a small unit. Turning down the subwoofer control a third of a turn flattens out the response. Far better sound then the Bose wave radio at less than half the price. Attractively styled and good remote.

Weakness:

Poor customer service when exchanging defective product. Suspect quality control: all of the previous reviews that complained about quality problems have vanished. Woofer that is not self protected against overloads.

I haven''t been to this site for awhile and now noticed that all of the unfavorable reviews that were posted for this product have magically disapeared! How can a forum be educational if bad reviews are deleted? In any case, I own one of these radios and after working through the quality control problems am satisfied with it. The first radio had a defective woofer that rattled when playing cds, even at very low volume levels, and later rattled on all program material. The unit was replaced under warranty but I had to pay to send it back to CSW. To this day I have not been reimbursed for the shipping charge. The woofer on the replacement unit also rattles a little when playing certain cds so I avoid playing any bass heavy discs on the model 88. The tuner doesn''t cause this affect, however.

Similar Products Used: Proton clock radio, Bose wave radio.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Janet Jones   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2002]
Strength:

nice sound from such a small box. good price for such sound and size. a battery was included from the factory for the remote (also a great small size). the ability to connect a cd player, tape deck or tv (and headphones) was a selling point. i think it is a better buy than the bose wave radio.

Weakness:

none really. it is what it is.

wanting to downsize the equipment in my bedroom but not sacrifice too much sound, i listened to the bose wave radio in a bose store and was impressed. bought one, brought it home, was impressed with the size and the ability to bring in stations that my other tuner struggles with. after two days i had decided it lacked the bass, so i ordered a Cambridge Audio Model 88 (for half the price) and am much happier with the bass. while the bose case was more appealing AND the clock/alarm was a plus, in the end, the bass notes and the price for the model 88 won

Similar Products Used: bose wave radio
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bill   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 25, 2000]
Strength:

Superb sound, great value for the price, great midrange, good bass in a small unit, nice presets, small remote just like the Bose model but this radio is much less; Great FM Tuner; legendary design by legend Henry Kloss, who designed the first quality table radio in the 60's.

Weakness:

Not as attractive as the Bose radio. Acceptable AM tuner

A must have for anyone who listens to radio, and does not need a stereo system. Also really enjoy listening to my favorite FM talk station, as the voices and bumper music sound great. I purchased my Model 88 for about $199, before the price increase to $249. Everyone should have one of these. Get a refurbished one (they are like new) from hifi.com and it makes a great gift.

Similar Products Used: My mother has a Bose table radio, and I think this sounds better and costs less.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Barry Browne   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2000]
Strength:

Compact, simple, good sound, low price

Weakness:

Need to pay $50 to use it as an alarm clock

This is a great little radia. It sits on my refrigerator and lets my wife listen to NPR and classical music rather than watch her little TV. The simplicity of design, remote control, and acceptable sound make this a great deal. I paid $103 through HiFi.com for a dealer refurb and it sounds so good that my mother-in-law who currently has a Bose got one as well. The sound quality is amazing for its size. This year's model is available with a CD player for a lot more money. If you just want acceptably pleasant music without much hassle or cost, get a refurb and enjoy.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian Parsons   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 2001]
Strength:

Superb sound, style, and value.

The CSW Model 88 is the best table radio you can find anywhere. My family has owned the Bose Wave radio. I was looking to see if there was anything that could match the sound of the Bose. I read all sorts of stereo reviews online, and found the Kloss 88 to be very competitive with the Bose at a better price. I decided to dive in and get one, and I was more than pleased at what I got. Never before have I heard clarity and room filling sound from such a small radio. If you're looking to get a table radio, this is the one. Some say the lack of a clock is a draw back, but I wasn't looking for an alarm, I was looking for a radio, and I got that and more.

Similar Products Used: Bose Wave Radio
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gregory Petersen   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2001]
Strength:

Great tuner section. Pulls in FM stations very well and mono function is very handy at times for distant stations.

Weakness:

Volume ramp up at startup is classy, but annoying at times.

After some new furniture purchases for our bedroom, it became apparent that my traditional stereo receiver and speakers did not fit in. I had heard the Bose Wave radio at a store, but the $350 price tag was a bit of a shock.

My web research about the Bose, turned up some comparisions with the Kloss 88 which were mostly favorable. I took a chance and purchased the 88 via the web without a prior listen (no stores in my area carried the unit).

The unit was shipped the day I ordered it and I was very pleased with what the UPS man delivered 3 days later. Upon first listen, the 88 sounded better than the Bose, and cost $200 less!

I have a Sony Discman hooked up the 88 and it sounds great as well. The adjustable woofer control has come in handy for certain CDs and stations.

Overall, I'm glad I took the chance and have no reservations about recommending the unit to anyone.

Similar Products Used: Sony CD/Clock radio.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com