Denon DCM-370 CD Players

4.14/5 (161 Reviews) MSRP : $299.00


Product Description

DCM-370 CD Changer with HDCD


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (161 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by HoundMan a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: February 2, 2013

Bottom Line:   
Listening to Eric Burdon and the Animals on the Denon PCM Audio Technology / CD Auto Changer Model DCN-370 - Sat Feb 3 2013. Plays great!! No problems since day one 13 years ago buying on a auction site called UBID for use in my restoration building. List to 5 CDs and and it is time move around load it again.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   1999



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Korkey604 a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: January 5, 2011

Bottom Line:   
i have just hooked this unit back up after sitting for 3 years. i got this in 2005 and i must say the quality of sound is fantastic.
no problem no skips every thing works. smooth disc tray.
this product is over 12 years old!

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   1999



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by chrisj_9@excite.com a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: October 11, 2006

Bottom Line:   
Looking back through the reveiws I was amazed to see that my original review was posted on Sept 29 2001. This player has not missed a beat in over 5 years. No problems, no skips. It still sounds superb. I have been thinking recently about upgrading but then I listen to the 370 and realise there really is no point. This has proved to be amazing value for money.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   2001



Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Fewtch a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: August 2, 2006

Bottom Line:   
Pretty darned nice unit for the price -- I heard the slight 'gray veil' over the mids immediately though. This comes across to me as a so-called "house sound" that many mid-fi players exhibit, and is typically the result of less-than-excellent power supplies rather than DACs and such, but I don't know for sure in this case. The unit I bought has many hours on it, so it's not a matter of break-in. I'm not bothered by the house sound of this player at all, as it obviously has many other excellent qualities. Eventually I'll probably plug in an external DAC and use it that way, but for now it makes an excellent addition to my system, replacing a Rotel RCD-855 (which does NOT have the 'gray veil' issue, but sounds considerably flatter, less open and more old fashioned than the Denon... great for classical but a flop with many other genres).

Overall I would recommend this player, but be aware that the carousel is absolutely typical of a low to mid priced 5-disc changer... it's noisy and obviously will be the first thing to go at the end of the unit's life. I really doubt this player will be around in 20 years, while the single disc Rotel RCD-855 might still be playing by then. Anyway, for the price these often go for it's well worth the money.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   Less than 1 month

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   2001

Price Paid:    $125.00

Purchased At:   Used



Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Reticuli a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: January 13, 2006

Bottom Line:   
O.k. another update. After more screwing around with my speaker system I can give a more accurate description of the sound this player has...over 6 years later. The best thing about it has to be the bass. The modded 370 has the most linear, unboomy, deep bass I've ever heard from a CD player in my system. That's comparing this to the Pioneer 655A PX (import Elite line), the Harman Kardon AVR7200, Numark Axis 8, and about half a dozen portables, including two from Sony and Radioshack that I consider to be high-end. The bass on the 370's analog outputs is extraordinary. DEEP. It's amazingly linear, from the quietest to the loudest...none get compressed together. The midrange has a very slight grayish veil from the HDCD PMD-1 decoder/filter chip and the highs can have a slight edge to the sibilant range. You also need to have this unit isolated. Stick it on rubber balls, a down pillow, on the other side of a wall with a hole through it for the cables...something to get rid of vibration. If it's between your front mains this isolation factor is more important. This is odd because tests have shown its jitter tolerance to be extremely high. And as I've said before, with well recorded HDCD's this is a great sounding unit for orchestral recordings, particularly from Silva. It will never sound as liquid, open, glowy, or transparent in the mids as some other players (except with HDCD), and its rhythm is fairly analytical, but this is a special CD player. If you can get a sound system set to gorgeous quality with this finicky player, I can guarantee you will get every other source in your collection to sound more like it was intended.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   1999

Price Paid:    $299.00

Purchased At:   Good Guys




Reviews 1 - 5 (161 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating



Magneplanar:



Sennheiser: