(*Mandatory fields)*Name*Email Address (must be valid to post review)
* Value Rating
(worth your money)
 
* Overall Rating
(money doesn't matter)
 
* How long have you used the product?    * Style that best describes you?

* What is the product model year?

* Review Summary

Characters Left

Product Image
Proscan PS56700
7 Reviews
rating  3.43 of 5
MSRP  2799.00
Description: 56" Projection TV - 4:3 Aspect Ratio - 900 Lines Horizontal Resolution - Comb Filter - Surround Sound Audio - Picture in Picture - S-Video Input - 2 A/V Inputs - Universal Remote


Submit


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (7 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Serged a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: September 6, 2002

Bottom Line:   
no problems what so ever with this TV... had it for about 3 years now and it's awsome

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   2000

Price Paid:    $2000.00

Purchased At:   Circuit City



Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:4
Submitted by Asish Bala a Casual Listener

Date Reviewed: August 20, 2002

Bottom Line:   
This has been my first big screen tv and it has worked great. Very good customer support with hooking up my receiver, dvd, tivo, VCR. Best picture quality when viewed from front, side view is a little blurry.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Casual Listener

Product model year:   2000

Price Paid:    $1799.00

Purchased At:   WIZ



Overall Rating:1
Value Rating:1
Submitted by Larry a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: September 27, 2001

Bottom Line:   
Follow up to my review posted on 11/13/00. TV continued to
break down. Finally repair center stated they could not
fix it. Contacted RCA customer care they spoke to the repair center and agreeded to refund my purchase price. This happened after the TV was out of warranty. The TV was
faulty but not many manufacturer's will refund your money when the warranty period is up. Will consider buying RCA again just for this reason.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   2000



Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:4
Submitted by Steve a Audiophile

Date Reviewed: January 8, 2001

Bottom Line:   
Ive had this TV for 3 years now, and Ive had only one problem with it. But since we had an extended service contract with it, that wasnt a problem. The picture screen started showing what looked like stains dripping down from the top. Over a period of a few weeks they appeared to be getting bigger.
Called the service technicians and they repaired the screen with a new part in the house. Havent had a problem since.
But the picture quaility has been excellent for a projection TV, works remarkedly well with a DVD player as far as video quality. Audio quality is not as good for DVD players because of the lack of a digital audio receiver to play through. The Enhanced SRS channel tends to drown out any dialog and enhance all music and sound effects on digitally enhanced recordings. But that is the drawback of trying to push 5 or 6 channels of sound through a 2 channel sound receiver (i.e. the TV). But all in all this has been a great purchase. I got it as a surprise Christmas gift from my wife 3 years ago, and I was astounded with it. I know for the price she paid for it then, we could have gotten a nice HDTV big screen now, but I am still pleased with this model. And we I plan to retain this unit for as long as possible until we are forced to upgrade to HDTV. Who knows maybe by then there will be an adapter unit that will work on standard TVs, so we wont all have to go out and buy a new console designed for HDTV. But I will wait till then at any rate, or until this model quits on us.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audiophile

Product model year:   1997

Price Paid:    $2800.00

Purchased At:   Circuit City



Overall Rating:1
Value Rating:1
Submitted by Larry a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: November 13, 2000

Bottom Line:   
Purchased the PS56700 from HiFi Buys about six months ago brand new. Worked fine for about four months. Then it went
as the repair man described it "dead". That was two months ago as 11-13-2000. Could not get the parts from Thompson Electronics for one reason or another. Parts finally came in
and now cannot get the TV to work with new parts so they must try to find other bad components. Original factory warranty will be up now in about three months. My suggestion before you invest in any large screen TV find out what trouble they have been having with the model you are looking at. Ask your service people in your area can they repair and get parts if necessary. I am currently using my old JVC 25" which is 15 years old with a great picture and seems to keep going and going. For the large price you will pay for the big screen tv's if it breaks down every day it is not in service is money out the door.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   3 months to 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   1999

Price Paid:    $1899.00

Purchased At:   HI-FI BUYS




Reviews 1 - 5 (7 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating