Conrad-Johnson PV-11 Preamplifiers

4.25/5 (8 Reviews) MSRP : $1895.00


Product Description



Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (8 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Doug Deacon a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: February 25, 2003

Bottom Line:   
A previous reviewer wrote, "This preamp stole my heart." Perfectly put. It stole mine in 1993 and has never failed me or the music. Fast but never harsh, lively but never glaring, layers and soundstages in an entirely natural way, warm only in the way that human voices and acoustic instruments are warm. What more could one ask? Well, maybe a Premier 17 someday! Until then you can listen to my PV11 if you wish, but you can't take it away.

I note that the two negative reviewers bought used units at remarkably low prices, especially considering they bought from dealers. Makes one wonder what the dealers knew, and didn't tell them, about the damaged goods.

A new PV11 was a gift from the audio gods. Knowingly selling a damaged used one was a crime against the audio gods. Especially sad that one victim refused c-j's offer to repair his because he thought it would take too long. He needed a complete diagnostic and it was over the holidays, what else did he expect? I'm sure c-j would have done a fine job, or honestly told him if it wasn't worth it. Too bad he never gave them a chance.

5.1? 6.1? 7.1? 15.1? Yeah, sure. Maybe once c-j figures out how to stuff that many tubes into a chassis. Until then, my PV11 and two Nautilus 803's will do very nicely.

After ten years my PV11 is still performing remarkably. Next step? Supplement my old but sturdy SAE 200w/ch amp with a c-j MV-60 or Premier 11a and biamp the Nautilus. S/S control for the bass plus c-j tubes for the mids/highs. Come on over and enjoy!

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   Pre 1995

Price Paid:    $1895.00

Purchased At:   Stereo Shop, Hartfor



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Joe a Audiophile

Date Reviewed: February 27, 2001

Bottom Line:   
This is a great preamp. CJ customer service is top shelf, and anyone who thinks otherwise has simply never called them. I bought this pre used from the original owner 3 years ago, and I have yet to find a pre that could best it. Cheers

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audiophile

Product model year:   Pre 1995

Price Paid:    $1895.00



Overall Rating:2
Value Rating:3
Submitted by ben garland a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: February 9, 2001

Bottom Line:   
This review is on the CJ PL- 11 linestage preamp, while I must say I am a CJ fan in fact I think the best amp I ever owned was the premier 11a, the pre is a piece of junk, the sound on the unit was good but I had it for 1 year, in that time I had to have it repaired 4 times by CJ it is a weak product and a poor unit from such a great company, if you are considering a CJ preamp don’t! I would recommend you to keep looking as I said this unit sounded excellent had great bass and treble but broke down more than a yugo, and had less miles than a yugo.i spent over $1200 having it repaired in a year.i would not recommend this unit only because of the repairs

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   3 months to 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   1997

Price Paid:    $650.00

Purchased At:   used



Overall Rating:2
Value Rating:3
Submitted by bob goshen a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: December 6, 2000

Bottom Line:   
i bought this unit from a highend dealer in philly he let me have it for $700 and a old pioneer elite cd player,at first i thought it looked good and sounded ok,but after a while i realize i made a mistake,i have owned several cj amps in the premier series but never owned a cj preamp,i wanted this one to match my cj 11 amp,first couple of days i noticed the sound as flat almost generic sounding,no life at all i tried different tubes but that did not help,i did notice that it took over 3 minutes for any sound to come out when turned on,i realize tubes must warm up but this seemed extra long ,i had read on the boards of several other people having this same problem,all that aside the sound is pitiful to say the least,and cj is no help at all i read that their customer service is great ,what a laugh.i was told if i sent it back in nov 2000 i would not see it til feb 2001 or longer,plus the help on the phone was useless,in side by side listening test this unit fell miserably,i hope this is a one in a millon unit and i feel bad to rank it so low but i would warn all that consider it to be careful,also i have sold my cj tube amp because i no longer feel i can trust cj service,this unit was used with the following a cj tube amp premier 11,a micromega cd player.,ml logans krell d/a converter krell power amp

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   Less than 1 month

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   Pre 1995

Price Paid:    $700.00



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by André Fredette a Audiophile

Date Reviewed: September 21, 2000

Bottom Line:   
This preamp takes the edge off of CD's and makes the whole experience easier on the ears. Much like a live classical performance the soundstage is slightly diffused but easy on the ear. Slightly softens transients. Great bass and bloom which adds some body to CD's but not to an extreme. Very quiet . After my Audio Research SP9 and counterpoint 1000, I though all tube preamps were a bit noisey but not the Conrad Johnson PV11. If you have a solid state system you might be amazed at what transformation a good tube preamp can do to the sound. You are more drawn into the sound rather than having it in your face. The sound is just more natural. Bought the preamp used for $1,500. CAD.
The treble and mid range are excellent but in a different way from solid state. This preamp will become a classic!

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   Less than 1 month

Duration Product Used:   Audiophile

Product model year:   Pre 1995

Price Paid:    $1000.00

Purchased At:   audio excellence, richmond hill ont.




Reviews 1 - 5 (8 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating



PSB Speakers:



CSB 1206 BLK: