Technics SA-DX940 A/V Receivers

3.95/5 (135 Reviews) MSRP : $250.00


Product Description

Dolby Digital, DTS, and Pro Logic decoding 100 watts x 2 (stereo) into 8 ohms (40-20k Hz) at 0.8% THD — or 100 watts x 5 in home theater mode 5 soundfields (Hall, Club, Live, Theater, Simulated Surround)


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (135 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:5
Submitted by 3db a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: October 7, 2014

Bottom Line:   
I've had this receiver for over 14 years now and its still working very well other than the input select skipping from time to time. Its been retired from my main system for over 5 years but have finally completed a second full HT system built around it and a suite of PSB speakers (original Alphas as main, Century 100i center, Micros for surrounds and Subsonic 5 sub. Prior to that , it was strictly used as a stereo receiver. It does a good job for the room that its in. The sound is clear, dynamic, and unstrained 90 db and lower. Any thing higher and I hear it starting to strain. Other than feature limited due to its age, its still a solid little AVR. And it still runs hot so please give it lots of ventilation like I have done and it will last you a long long time.


Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   2000



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Neil Hughes a Casual Listener

Date Reviewed: April 25, 2014

Bottom Line:   
Bought this AV receiver as part of a set with yamaha speakers years ago, dumped the speakers about 8 years ago and it sat in my loft until 6 months ago when I invested in a decent set of brand new Kef 5.1 egg shaped speakers in Feb 2014.. All I can say is wow it sounds amazing, better than when I bought it and I will not bother buying an up-to-date one until it dies.. Fallen in love with it again 12/13 years after buying.. Brilliant piece of kit..

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Casual Listener

Product model year:   2000



Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:4
Submitted by Mike C a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: January 20, 2014

Bottom Line:   
Had this amp for years and forgot about it, pulled it out when an Onkyo I was using in my edit suite died. I forgot the Technics also was not a normal Class B transistor amp but runs heavily biased near Class C mode. This explains why it gets so hot - think of a tube amp sitting there all covered up... What I discovered is how great this hybrid receiver sounds! Compared to Quad tube amps it lacks ultimate musicality and depth but for an affordable, reliable, remote controllable surround receiver its pretty good! Very crisp and neutral sound, great vocals!
Good advice also from other reviewers regarding extra fans and raising the thing a little.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   Pre 1995



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Rumen Robert a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: January 19, 2014

Bottom Line:   
heb dit toestel van een vriend gekregen had een klein defect aan een druktoets een klein beetje contactspray heeft wonderen gedaan gebruik hem op mijn muziek kamer met twee boxen van toch wel 300 watt het stuk en wat een geluid dat deze versterker produceert toen ik hem aanschakelde en het geluid hoorde stond ik met mijn mond vol tanden van ! how man dat is pas power en haar zuiver het beste product wat technics ooit op de markt heeft gebracht met andere woorden een echte top versterker wat andereversterkers het nakijken geeft
kalitatief een echte top versterker echt TOPPIE !

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   2001



Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:3
Submitted by vincent.mlndazwe a Casual Listener

Date Reviewed: September 18, 2013

Bottom Line:   
can i see all aboud this amp iam willing to pay from R 2000 OR MORE CAN I SEE MORE
PHOTOS OF THIS Tehnics-DX940 A/V

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Casual Listener

Product model year:   2002




Reviews 1 - 5 (135 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating



PSB Speakers:



BLG CP024: