Harman Kardon AVR7200 A/V Receivers

4.66/5 (29 Reviews) MSRP : $1150.00


Product Description

The AVR 7200's seven-channel, high-current, ultrawide-bandwidth amplifier is the most powerful ever in a Harman Kardon receiver. A comprehensive bass management system with Triple Crossover selection makes certain that low-frequency sound goes to the right place no matter what type of speakers you own or input you use, including DVD-Audio or SACD. Multiroom options range from assignable rear-channel amplifiers to an A-BUS Ready port, which allows complete remote-room control and amplification with only one Cat. 5 wire connection. A preprogrammed remote with an LCD display and EzSet™, an RS-232 port and a complete range of surround processing options all contribute to the AVR 7200's spectacular music and home theater performance.


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (29 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Erik a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: November 24, 2015

Bottom Line:   
I've been using my HK AVR 7200 since 2004 and it is the best receiver that I've ever owned. I hand-built my own speakers with NON-powered subwoofer in the late 1980's and was looking for yet another receiver to power them. Since I don't have a powered subwoofer, I was looking for a system that has plenty of headroom for my 7 cubic foot, dual 12" woofer box. I formerly used two receivers - a Sony 130W per channel (x2) for the woofers, and another for the 5 satellite speakers. That sounded great with plenty of bass, but after one blew out, I decided I only wanted one unit. I read about the AVR 7200 in Crutchfield, and decided to buy it when it went on sale (at Fry's). The box was marked $1800 and I got it for $800. I know that is close to retail, but 10+ years later, I'm more than happy with my purchase.

It may not have HDMI (I don't care about that anyway), but what it does have is way more power than advertised. It says 100 watts RMS per channel x 7 channels, but I think that's under rated. I have 4 satellites (6" mid-range with 1" dome tweeters) for L R SL SR, and a center with two 6" mid and low-range with 1" dome, and a large box with two 12" down-firing woofers. The front L+R channel outputs power both the satellites and the sub woofers and is close to 6 ohms instead of 8. No problem for this beast though.

This configuration produces so much bass that my neighbor called the police on me a few weeks ago while watching Tron with my wife & kids. Theater-level sound in a room that's 28' x 18', and simply thunders the entire house too. Doors rattle, windows vibrate, stuff falls from shelves like an earthquake. The pounding bass in movies like Jurassic Park and Transformers vibrates your shirt and pounds your chest. In short, this thing simply rocks.

Looking inside, there's a 6" diameter power supply (transformer) with 2 large capacitors. The two heat sinks for the amplifiers are at least 14" long and 5" high. The unit weighs in at 50 pounds. I spent some time recently at Fry's in the receiver isle and lifted all of the units (at least 20) to see how much they weigh. Even the most expensive units that claim 7x100 watts were less than 20 pounds (finger in the air measurement, but I'm pretty good at that). How can they have the same rated power while only be 33% of the weight? Answer: they don't.

One reviewer here said he picked one up cheap since it didn't power-on. Mine too blew-out the fuse for the stand-by power about 7 years ago (yes, a 2nd power supply inside that is used for the remote and LED) but after replacement (less than $1 and a few minutes with a screwdriver), it's been all good since then.

Pros: Awesome power, lots of digital inputs, more power than you'll ever need, remote that helps you tune your speakers, and best of all - a boat-load of power. It will blow-out your speakers if you don't match components carefully (yes, that's a pro and not a con).

Cons: It's big - it's quite tall, very long (longer than any other receiver I've owned and may not fit in some racks), and heavy (50 pounds). If you need HDMI switching, that's also missing but that's to be expected for a unit of this era.

Summary: If you're looking for a bunch of power to rock-out your neighborhood and you can find one, BUY IT. You won't be disappointed. I've been an audio enthusiast for 30+ years (and my ringing ears are proof) and this is simply the best receiver you can find for the money - even the newest models on the market can't make a dent in this tank.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   2003



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Shrikantjee a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: February 23, 2011

Bottom Line:   
I have used Harmon Kardon AVR 7200 since 2003 and I cannot get over the quality of sound that comes out of this product. I have currently hooked it up to Def tech Mythos ST. I had to upgrade my receiver to an Onkyo to get HDMI and the latest sound formats, but noticed the sound quality wasn't as good as the HK. So I now have the Onkyo doing the decoding and sending the sound to the HK which is driving my Fronts and Center.

AVR-7200 is an awesome receiver, too bad HK doesn't make anything comparable any more.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   2003



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by RobSwindol a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: February 3, 2011

Bottom Line:   
Price paid: $220 including shipping

This is one remarkable receiver. I needed a system to replace my old burnt out Klipsch 2.1 computer speakers. I found this receiver for next to nothing at an auction because it was advertised that it wouldn't power on. A little known fact about these receivers is the original fuses were a bit weak. So as soon as I got it home I popped the lid and replaced all 4 main fuses. Now I've been using this receiver paired with a set of Infinity TSS-1100 speaker for about 4 months and WOW... What an amazing sound. My computer actually has audio that sounds almost as good as the Denon AVR-3311CI and Celestion speakers that I use in my living area.

Strengths:
Excellent, smooth, warm sound
Enough power for almost any speakers you need to connect to it.
Easy to use
Direct inputs if you want to use it with a computer like I do

Weaknesses:
Because this is an older receiver, it doesn't have HDMI inputs. Of course you really can't expect it to, so I feel bad even considering this a weakness, but I'm sure someone out there will buy one and be disappointed, so I'm just issuing a warning up front.

Similar Products Used:
I've used many receivers over the past 10 years, including some high-end and some low-end devices from SONY, Denon, and several different Onkyo models. None of them match the performance of this receiver and all of them cost me more money.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   3 Months to 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   2003



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Justin Lammers a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: January 31, 2010

Bottom Line:   
The Harman Kardon AVR-7200 is the best ultrawide-bandwith amplifier receiver I have ever laid my eyes on. It brings movies to life, and music of a New York club to your very own living room. My favorite part about this marvelous device is how it is smart enough to know where to send the bass. Clarity is everything. The Harman Kardon AVR 7200 was designed with clarity in mind. If you have speakers that can handle the wattage, then you got your self the best setup in the world. This device makes crappy speakers sound good. I was using logitech z-5500 speakers as satelite speakers. This receiver made them sound like angels singing. I would drop $800 for one of these receivers any day of the week. They are reliable and the most powerful models on the Harman Kardon AVR market. You will not be dissapointed!

Like I said, If you can get one of these receivers for $800 or less snatch them up! You will never be dissapointed!!!!

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   2007



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Home Theater Buff a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: April 29, 2009

Bottom Line:   
This Harman Kardon AVR-7200 has been the best sounding/performing receiver I have ever listened too!! I have owned a Denon 4802, Pioneer Elite VSX-59TXi , Onkyo TX-DS898..... So I have done my share of trying to find the next best thing (Impulsive Buyer), but never happened! This unit is a powerhouse of clean real watts! The last 5 years They have powered all 7 of my Definitive Technology BP10's and boy have they rocked the house!! If your looking for a fantastic sounding receiver and you don't need all the new HDMI switching this baby is a must have! Keep in mind this unit does pass HD Componet signals thou. Nomatter what I listen too (Rock, Jazz or Classic Soul) this baby still makes me sit back and say " Ohh Yea"

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   2003




Reviews 1 - 5 (29 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating