Wadia Digital 860 CD Players

4.58/5 (12 Reviews) MSRP : $7450.00


Product Description



Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (12 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:3
Submitted by SCHWINNINDIA a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: September 13, 2005

Bottom Line:   
WADIA 861 CD PLAYER - REVIEW
13.09.2005.

Review of the Wadia 861B - CD Player - Basic - SILVER

Serial Number :- 086 130 0343

Purchased on :- 10.01.2004

Purchased from :- Nova Audio - India - Sushil Anand

Price Paid :- US $'s 6,000/-

A] Music

M.A. Recordings - Begona Olavide / Mudejar MA042A
Water Lily Acoustics - Tabula Rasa WLA-CS-44-CD
ECM Records – Making Music / Zakir Hussain ECM – 1349
Moment Records – Ustad Sultan Khan MRCD – 1006
Reference Recordings – TUTTI ! RR-906CD
Telarc – A tribute to Oscar Peterson CD – 83401
Chesky Records – The Raven / Rebecca Pidgeon JD 115
Mercury – Essential / Yello 512 390 – 2

Mazher Bashir JAFFAR

13th September, 2005.

Mumbai - Bombay - INDIA

e-mail :- schwinn@mtnl.net.in

www.schwinnaudio.com

Strengths:
Build Quality
Looks - asthetically very pleasing
Transport - TEAC CMK 3.2 - VRDS

Weaknesses:
Not Transparent
Poor Dynamics
Poor IR Remote Control
Poor Display
Very 'Digital Sounding' - Edgy - COLD

Similar Products Used:
SIMAUDIO MOON ECLIPSE CD PLAYER - SerialNumber A-211294-CD
ELECTROCOMPANIET EMC-1 24/192 CD PLAYER - Serial Number 01334]
AUDIOMECA MEPHISTO II CD TRANSPORT - Serial Number 2001045
AUDIOMECA ENKIANTUS 24/192 DAC - Serial Number 2001073
METRONOME T1A MK II TRANSPORT + UP SAMPLER
METRONOME C1A MK III TUBE 24/192 DAC
THE GRYPHON ADAGIO CD PLAYER - Serial # 0401111
CAMELOT TECHNOLOGY MERLIN PRO CD TRANSPORT - Serial # 301209
CAMELOT TECHNOLOGY DRAGON 5.1 PLUS JITTER REDUCER - Serial # 103584
CAMELOT TECHNOLOGY UTHER D/A CONVERTOR v2 Mk5 - Serial # 501202

LIST OF AUDIO GEAR OWNED AND USED :-

SIMAUDIO MOON ECLIPSE CD PLAYER - SerialNumber A-211294-CD
SIMAUDIO P-5 PRE AMPLIFIER Serial Number A-081291-PRE
ELECTROCOMPANIET EMC-1 24/192 CD PLAYER Serial Number 01334
AUDIOMECA MEPHISTO II CD TRANSPORT Serial Number 2001045
AUDIOMECA ENKIANTUS 24/192 DAC Serial Number 2001073
METRONOME T1A MK II TRANSPORT + UP SAMPLER
METRONOME C1A MK III TUBE 24/192 DAC
WADIA 861-B CD PLAYER Serial # 086 130 0343
BRYSTON BP-25 PRE AMPLIFIER Serial Number 251744
BRYSTON 7B ST POWER AMPLIFIER Serial Number 773775 & 773793
PASS LABS X-1 PRE AMPLIFIER Serial Number 010388
DYNAUDIO CONFIDENCE 5 SPEAKERS Serial Number 729879 & 729990
VdH THE SECOND BALANCED INTERCONNECTS 1M
VdH THE FIRST ULTIMATE UNBALANCED INTERCONNECTS 1M
VdH THE REVELATION SPEAKER CABLE 3M
VdH THE MAINSTREAM HYBRID POWER CABLE 2M
XLO ELECTRIC TYPE 4.1B AES/EBU DIGITAL INTERCONNECT CABLE 1M
THE GRYPHON ADAGIO CD PLAYER Serial # 0401111
THE GRYPHON SONATA ALLEGRO PRE AMPLIFIER Serial # 8890099
THE GRYPHON ANTILION STEREO SIGNATURE POWER AMPLIFIER Serial # 118
CAMELOT TECHNOLOGY MERLIN PRO CD TRANSPORT [Serial # 301209
CAMELOT TECHNOLOGY DRAGON 5.1 PLUS JITTER REDUCER Serial # 103584
CAMELOT TECHNOLOGY UTHER D/A CONVERTOR v2 Mk5 Serial # 501202
THE GRYPHON GUIDELINE REFERENCE BALANCED INTERCONNECT 1M
THE GRYPHON PSC REFERENCE SPEAKER CABLE 2M
THE ARGENTO VDM MASTER REFERENCE XLR BALANCED INTERCONNECT 1M & 1.5M
THE ARGENTO VDM REFERENCE SPEAKER CABLE 3M
WIREWORLD SUPER ECLIPSE 5 XLR BALANCED & RCA UNBALANCED INTERCONNECT - 1M
JORMA DESIGN JPC 2.5 POWER CABLE - SWEDEN - 2M - ALL ELECTRONICS
DC-CABLE TAIWAN POWER CABLES - CUSTOM TERMINATION Front End Electronics - Digital

MAZHER B. JAFFAR
SCHWINNAUDIO.COM

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   3 Months to 1 year

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   2004

Price Paid:    $6000.00

Purchased At:   Mumbai - Bombay - IN



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by knut-weber a AudioPhile

Date Reviewed: February 17, 2003

Bottom Line:   
This CD-Player has some strenghts over other players, which can be described as follows: First you notice the very deep and powerfull bass. You get deep bass also from other equipment, but witch the lack of spatial information. All kind of instruments which have small rise times (percussion, ...) come with explosive attacks - even where you would never expect it. the spatial information is as good like never heard before. the resolution is so outstanding good, that you can hear a *lot* of things never heard before in your best known records. I used a Sony 557 ES with all the op-amps changed to the best Burr-Brown types. Not bad - but HiFi. The Wadia is not HiFi, it is just music. I would have never believed that there is so much music and information on the CDs, regardless what they are. From the oldes ones (Rennaissance, Abba, The Doors, ...) via Jazz-Rock (Camel, ...), Rock (Rush, Pink Floyd, ...) to the latest dance music. It is amazing, amazing, amazing! I listen to it with a STAX Omega II headphone and Apogee speakers. I do use a preamplifier - Spectral DMC-20 - which sounds better in my case, as I have the amps on pre-out and the headphone on tape-out. If you only have power-amps, or a pre-amp not state-of-the-art drive the amp directly from the Wadia. This unit (I have the x modification, which itself was 700 dollars from the 860) is not cheap. It is extremely expensive, indeed. But after trying it out, I have to say that this is worth the money. It makes music. Nothing less! Like there are headphones and Stax earspeakers, there are CD-Players and the Wadia. It is technically descibed a CD-Player, but sonically it is a Stradivari. I needed hours to get my totally overloaded ears recognize the gazillions of details never heard before. And the unit get better every day since then, as far as my ears are capable to follow into its sonic dimensions.
Not to mention the remote control, you nearly need two hands to lift it. The player iself is built that wou think a Krell amplifier is a cheap plstic toy compared to it. 24 kilos! If you want to know how it feels to knock on its front, go out to the street and knock on the ground.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   Less than 1 month

Duration Product Used:   AudioPhile

Product model year:   1997

Price Paid:    $5400.00

Purchased At:   second hand



Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Des Smith a Audiophile

Date Reviewed: August 10, 2001

Bottom Line:   
The 861x was clean and clear and made my CD's sound much more musical & then I put in an SACD & was blown away by the clarity & my old CD's now sound a merely ok. But I now know what a reference system can sound like. Other components were Amati's & MF M3.Its obviously a quality product which should be partnered accordingly, however it will highlight deficiences in CD quality and in production and engineering.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   Less than 1 month

Duration Product Used:   Audiophile

Product model year:   2000

Price Paid:    $10000.00

Purchased At:   Hi Fi Experience



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by al castro a Audio Enthusiast

Date Reviewed: July 20, 2001

Bottom Line:   
I first tried this with an aragon 8008bb amps but I wasn't happy.The resolution wasn't great and the tone quality wasn't life-like.I later experimented with a pair of CAD 300 LX2O's .The sound was breath-taking.At the time, 861 came out.So I borrowed it for a couple of hours for curiosity reasons but I noticed right away the sound was different.I'm not sure better in sound but in parts yes.The 861 sounds a little rolled off on the higher frequencies that I have trouble getting use to it, which is probably correct of the two but not for my taste. I prefer using 860x but with a shakti stone on the top and using a king cobra as my power cord.The result beats the 861 upgrade I feel.To top it off ,I used nirvana s/l interconnects and cresendo speaker cables with assortments of Bybee products.The speaker I'm using are the grand piano's which perform like class A in this system.I'm completely satisfied.

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   More than 1 year

Duration Product Used:   Audio Enthusiast

Product model year:   2000

Price Paid:    $6000.00

Purchased At:   san francisco



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Xav a Audiophile

Date Reviewed: July 5, 2001

Bottom Line:   
I love the Wadia 860. It is built like a tank and its looks alone are worth the price (ok im exagerating, but i still love the design).

As for the real importance, the sound, i can safely say that i was amazed. All the instruments are so precise and detailed it is hard to imagine what my CDs sounded like before. Music is now a whole different experience. Im thinking about getting a preamp, as im having static problems running the Wadia direct into the Stratos : i think theres some sort of impedance problem there.

My only complaint as of now is the lack of soundstaging, but i attribute this to the fact that i have a brand new Amp that may not have broken in correctly yet. Will keep you posted on that.

Eq used :

Audience Paris Speakers
Odyssey Stratos Amps
TMC Yellow interconnects
No preamp

Expand full review >>

Used product for:   Less than 1 month

Duration Product Used:   Audiophile

Product model year:   1999

Price Paid:    $4000.00

Purchased At:   Audiogon




Reviews 1 - 5 (12 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating



Sennheiser:



PSB Speakers: